Witness "pjau" Update Week 3

in #witness-update6 years ago

Hello everyone!

So my third week as a witness is over, I have moved up the ranks slightly more this week which is great! At the time of writing my full rank is #170 and my active rank is #124.

I have had no issues with the server, everything is running smoothly still. Since last weeks up I have produced 3 more blocks and have not missed any. I haven't changed any of my witness settings, but I have changed my price feed to update via a cron, since it kept on stopping. It's been more reliable since, so that is good.

Outside of being a witness, I have put in 36 hours with @steemcleaners since last update, processed over 900 user reports and done a lot of Discord chat support. Phishing attempts still seem to be quiet, but not completely gone, so have had to stop some from spamming this week.

Anyway I think that is all for this weeks update! :)

Vote For Me

https://steemit.com/~witnesses : type my name in the box: pjau
Vote @pjau via Steemconnect

Every vote is a treat for Xander!

THANKS FOR LISTENING!

Sort:  

Oh, I didn't write an update for weeks.. Hmm. So busy..

Write one now then.. lol :p Make Sunday update day!

Thanks for the update and for processing all those reports!

:)

How are you doing?!?!

Three more blocks which means five all together now? Or is it four? I think you told me of one after the fact last week, since it took me forever to get to the post, kind of like this one. :)

Sounds like things are humming along between the witness server, the feed update and your work with steemcleaners. That's probably plenty to keep you busy with, right?

I'm glad you're climbing up the ranks. I know that all the inactive witnesses are still counted by some, and that once a witness always a witness, but that all seems rather cumbersome if people don't/can't maintain the server.

Four, I got the second one a little after last weeks update :) Being a witness is the easy part :p Steemcleaners takes up the other 99.999% of the time.

I think people just give up because its hard to make any profit from doing it, even harder if you can't get the votes. I should be getting about 10 blocks a month with my current votes. that pays for like 20% of my server cost, so good thing i'm not doing it for profit.. lol, because it would be a bad investment :D

Well, true, but it doesn't necessarily have to stay this way forever. More people drop out ahead of you, more upvotes, or more higher SP votes. At any rate, if you can do it now when the remuneration is lower, that means you could definitely do it when the pay gets a little higher, and it sounds like they're working to reduce the workload on witness servers, anyway, so maybe that will help, too.

So, what would you say then, is your main motivations for doing this?

Yeah I heard about the upcoming improvements and optimizations. Less resources needed etc, should be good. I can't wait!

My motivations, well I used to be a web developer, I quit a few years ago. I honestly just wanted to run a server again.. Haha. Plus it looks good having another Steemcleaner as a witness. 5 of us are :)

But I also like steem and what it could be, so that's a big motivation. :)

Five steemcleaner witnesses. I didn't know that, though I guess I haven't looked that closely as to who steemclearner is comprised of and which of them might be a witness. I knew of patrice and you, and I'll probably know the others if you mention them.

Well, okay! We've all got our own reasons for doing things, and liking STEEM ad its potential, I would say is one of the very best reasons to run a server.

Hehe yeah, we need to be more organised obviously. :p

Anyway just in case anyone else reads this.....

INSERT ADVERTISEMENT

Vote for these really cool and amazing @steemcleaners witnesses:

@pjau
@anyx
@patrice
@guiltyparties
@pfunk

END ADVERTISEMENT

looks like I'm already voting for anyx, and the funny thing is, I'm not sure how I arrived at that conclusion now. Oh, well. Don't plan to change it, so that's fine.

I think I've heard of all them, just not in direct association with either steemcleaners or being a witness. It's all good to know, though. :)

I hope your ranks will move fastly this week.

@pjau You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61