Witness Report

in #witness6 years ago

The @steemitblog has an account of what happened over the last 24 hours. I thought I would chime in briefly. Basically there was a bug in the code. Lots of people looked it over. It was tested. The bug made it through, and that bug caused a forked chain. Before the chain stopped I elected to stop running my V20 witness boxes so as not propagate the fork.

Several of the Steemit Devs and witnesses worked hurriedly to patch the code so that we could get up and running. Gandalf started the bad boy up and then witnesses started latching onto the fork.

It was intense as many were watching and reporting about if they were on the same chain, forking off, connecting disconnecting. The chain works best when we're all producing on it. So, it's trickiest at the starts and at the forks. It's a good metaphor for the reality.

The chain works best when we're all on it.

I can say I spent roughly 16hours glued to my computer waiting for patches to apply, replays of witness code, and trying to make sure I knew to the best of my ability what was going on and how I could help it best.

In this regard I mostly left it up to the devs, stayed out of their way, and tried to do simple things like fetch codes and things from chat to help them as they were doing the work they excel at.

A different type of witness

I've been upfront that the code isn't my strong point. My strong point is community development and working on adoption. On that front when the chain started working again Steemmonsters.com through @yabapmatt's effort got a fresh face and a deck of Beta booster packs for sale.

Since launch we've had around 10k packs sell. You can check the wallet for @steemmonsters. This stuff is all on the chain. You can see purchases come in through USD and other cryptos. You see every currency that comes in is converted to steem before being used to purchase a pack. This puts buying pressure on the price of Steem. it also gives another reason to stick around. People are buying and selling packs, hanging out in Discord, and trading with Steem. That's where the value lies!

We're going to do what we can to build a rewarding game that's fun that keeps people on the Steem blockchain, has them spend their other currencies to have ours, and dream about launching their own projects here.

So, it's been a long couple of days for me, and it's not letting up. I've had some family celebrations mixed in. I have a Minnowsupport moderator meeting to organize in 90 minutes.

If you can't tell I live here. I love it here, and I spend nearly every waking hour that I have trying to spread the values of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty, help the Steem ecosystem grow, and train and retain community members.

I'm so proud of this place.

To the moon!

Lastly, I'll mention that last night is a perfect example of we all go to the same moon. This community sticks together. It's one chain. We don't fork unless it's a scheduled hard fork. Get used to the people around here and make peace because this community is here to stay and grow. And as we grow and more games, more Dapps, and more communities grow to meet to the capabilities of our chain we'll only get stronger.

It's a pleasure to serve this place and this community, and I thank many of my fellow witnesses and the Steemit devs for an intense dedication to this chain.

Sort:  

People like you make this platform strong. No amount of money or tech-savvy can defeat that. Congrats in finding your purpose in this community.

Thank you for all you do, every day! 😊

Thanks for the update man!

It was a stressful couple of hours but it wasn’t about the concern for security on my side it was more on really wanting to be on reading and engaging as I have grown accustomed to. While I think everything was settled in an efficient manner, actions should be taken to maintain the community up to date as to the status. I appreciate you and other witnesses keeping us posted on Discord and also great to see so many talking to the community today about what happened.

And this is why my faith remains strong within this community <3

Community is most important and steem got the greatest community in blockchain, so just think, if not steem then who will do it?
We will do it, we all change this world together!
Thank you all steem community!

Sometimes we believe that people we do not know and who are currently at a higher level, for their work and time on this platform are like superheroes who know everything. Sharing your weakness makes you a more human and sensitive being; those of us who know teamwork, we are clear that it is not necessary to know everything to lead a community, but have the desire to achieve positive things, for the good of all, in addition to having a team that can be trusted , as in the difficult moments, lived recently.
It is nice to know a little more, one of the witnesses that I currently support. I leave you my best wishes and many successes in your projects.
Good vibes.


Lluvia de bendiciones y buena energía para todo lo que te propongas.

Stuff like that happens. Y'all done a fine job.... Thanks for all the hard work! Got 10 of those booster packs, myself. Now we just need a FPS and a kick ads RPG, like COD and The Witcher where you can earn and spend SBD in the game. Or am I getting ahead of myself? Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome... Steem to $100 and beyond.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Completely agree @aggroed, I was actually quite impressed by how this was all sorted out and the services were brought back online without major drama - everyone kept their cool. So much actually that I've decided to become a witness as well and did just that a few hours ago :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95