Witness & Seed Upgraded to Version 0.19.5

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

witness-update.png

Emergency Update to v0.19.5 in Progress

If you were attempting to use the Steem blockchain or any of its Dapps during the wee hours of the morning, you probably noticed that it had come to a complete halt. This was the first time I had ever witnessed (no pun intended) this during my time on Steemit. The issue seemed to have been caused due to a user who attempted to withdraw a negative amount of vests.

The Steemit development team (as well as other witnesses) acted quickly to correct the error and prevent it from happening again in the future. A fix in the code was added about 7 or 8 hours ago and all witnesses (including myself) have either upgraded to the newest version or are in the process of doing so. Both my Seed and Witness servers have been upgraded to the newest version (0.19.5).

I just wanted to give you guys this update and let you know why the blockchain was down earlier today. I also wanted to let you know that I'm on top of this and will always be ready to make upgrades and security patches when needed. 😀

If you'd like to support my work here on the Steem blockchain, please consider voting @brandonfrye for witness. Every vote counts!!

Sort:  

Okay thanks! I was wondering why I was getting errors when trying to post. This is probably why. :)

Yep we were completely down all across the board which is extremely unusual. First time I’ve seen the actual blockchain go down. And it was all bc of one user lol. But we’re goid to go now. And I’m sure that errors will be noticed quicker from now on.

lol wow! Good to know the problem was solved! haha

Congrats @mrchef111, you're the comment upvote winner from this post. You'll be receiving an upvote on your comment above shortly!! :)

oh wow thank you! :)

What is witness and why should I vote? @brandonfrye

Hey @laxmanmah, great question. Witness are who maintain and keep the Steem blockchain running. They produce the block which contain transactions, posts, comments, upvotes, etc. We also ensure the the blockchain is secure and make some decisions about the future of Steem. So if it weren't for witnesses, there would be no Steem (or Steemit, Dtube, Dlive, etc.). So they're very important. And everyone can vote on who they feel does a great job. :)

I will vote you because you reply and care for your followers !! How to do this?

Thanks. You can go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom, add @brandonfrye, and click vote. I appreciate it!

Someone is mixing business with pleasure... lol!

Lol yeah I knew it would happen. I’m just glad to know that I’m able to manage my servers from anywhere.

I went to bed early and got a really great sleep:):):)

lol, luckily it was midday for me so while other witnesses were up all night I spent the afternoon working on this. :)

For me it was around bedtime:) Or at least it was when I discovered it:)

Thanks for the update. Explains why I was having so much trouble posting. When my post did go through it said it was posted 6 hours prior. Weird!

That is strange. Should work itself out though and be good now. Luckily I’m plugged into the witness room on steem.chat where I can get first hand information about what’s happening. Lot of smart folks in that room.

Thanks for your work in fixing it. Yes, I was trying to get online about 10 hours ago or so and was disappointed that I couldn't do some contributing and planning for today. I know it likely adversely impacted people's visibility to posts and the ability to upvote as well. This had quite an adverse impact on the site, yet the currency seems stable, which is a good thing. It shows the power of it and the resiliency, despite what appeared to be a total outage for hours. I already had you voted for as a witness, BTW.

Yes, we just have to learn from these mistakes and make sure we continue to patch these things fast. And thanks for the vote for witness. I really do appreciate it. 😊

Not even a month on the job and they hit you with this huh? LOL

I took the night off. Didn't check STEEM until this morning but I'll tell you what...For a second...Just a tiny second...I feared the worst.

Good to see everyone get the fix out as soon as they could!

Haha, it was a great learning experience for sure. I've seen others compare it to the early days of Bitcoin when there was a similar instance where the blockchain was down. I'm glad it's all fixed and all of the top witnesses should be updated by now for sure.

Great to hear more information on what happened! I thought it was a DDoS attack or something.

Yeah, just an event on the blockchain that triggered it to stop. I'm glad the development team was quick to correct the issue and patch it. :)

THIS...is one of the many reasons....you have my witness vote brandon! thanks for handling things from over seas. cheers brother!

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I'm happy to. The benefit of being over here is that I was working on this during the day while other witnesses were up most of the night lol. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83