You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting Witness Votes is Like Pulling Teeth... And Here's Why

in #witness6 years ago

Great post man and I think the biggest issue is the first point you talked about....People just don't know.

It took me a few weeks when I first joined to even know' there was a even a place to vote for witnesses and another month to actually figure it out what that meant.

And this comes from a massive disconnect between regular everyday users and the coders that created blockchain....K.I.S.S. is an acronym not used much in blockchain tech lol

Seriously though....Witnesses are so important and I wish Steemit did a better job of letting people know what they are and why we need them as soon as you join.

Sort:  

Same here, it’s all pretty confusing in the beginning. Even the term witness is foreign to most people, including experienced programmers. This is probably why most of the top witnesses have held their positions for so long. The big accounts that are doing most of the voting are fellow programmers and other witnesses. So it all makes sense to them.

I would love to get the entire community more involved with the entire blockchain, and not just posting. There’s really so much here to be a part of. There have been several proposals for improving participation but I don’t know if any of them ever took off. One involved a monetary reward that actually made sense.

I guess the biggest thing is helping people to understand the importance of it, like you said. I feel if more people knew that they’d wish they had more than 30 votes. 😁

I've used 20 of 30 so far....Took away a few votes from witnesses I saw not put STEEM front and center....So I'm willing to vote for people...But they need to show and prove LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64