HAPPY NEW YEAR and Witness update 30 Dec

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

2017 was weird year, but hey first things first, after so much wait, on December 28th MArlene was born, with 47cm and 2450 gms, all is good, she's too cool, cute and tiny.

Her brother likes her and since this afternoon we are all back home reunited to recieve the new year!

8d970d7c-c7f3-4417-b026-34875cd2fd70.jpg

9bbdd6ca-7d9a-430a-8208-dd16106db3d7.jpg


The machine

The server is working great and even thought we have realized lately the size of the block-chain is growing exponentially, and there is no real reason for this because steemit has not grown that much, the block-chain size has increased about 4Gb lately and 2 of those gigabytes have been very fast...

No missed blocks, 3 new blocks witnessed

Anyway the server is sitting in position 129, just before @zeartul, So who wants to vote for the guy who is last?

...not exactly last, because there are in theory 14000 witnesses, and i am 129, that must be an honor, even more, if you count disabled witnesses i fall into position 97

The projects and the community

  • Reveur discord

    A thriving venezuelan community to cultivate real steemians, "Come for the vote, stay for the good vibes" we organize every week 1 or 2 Live Curation events as well as a weekly Crypto-market basics, introduction
    The market sessions have become a hangout to explain steemit.

    I made a nice discord BOT to manage the channel which has proven very sucessful... it cleans all channels from post links and drops'em in a promote channel (had to do that, people were just entering the server and pasting their bloody link on every channel they could... (it is me or that is rude?)

  • Free vote Intelligent BOT

    If you paid attention, about 2 months ago i made a big fuss about the BOT i coded with a Artificial Intelligence neural network to encourage selflessnes in steemit and allow minnows to feel what giving a vote was. Also was looking for support to fund it... Guess what... I WORKS :) People doesn't like it because they are used to stupid BOTs that give money for free for no apparent reason or to pay for votes, because that is what #steemit has shown them we expect from them.

    So when faced to a BOT that request to be generous and not to call a self vote but a to vote on other people posts, that are not bound by curation groups TAGs and the encourage to use free tags that really serve to categorize content and not to call for votes... Well they are confused when the BOT just ignores them... But a few (and those are the ones who matter) have done the effort to figure out how to better use the BOT and that must be rewards enough.

    • For a test period the bot ignored requests from people who has not voted for any witness... had to remove it, 93% of the callers didn't met that condition...

    • A new feature will be rolled soon, Verification of the sumoner SP and VP and if has voted in the post... This is to ensure if people with high SP is using it either they have voted the post and are just giving more rewards to the author or their VP is low and they used the BOT... I mean there is no sense in giving my vote if you are not giving yours.

    • Another feature that i am working on is to refuse to vote when there has been a pay for vote service used in the post (if one has the money to pay for a vote, then leave the free votes for those who wont)

  • Let's have minnows curating! (delega)

    Ahh... this one i love it because it teaches me so much about steemit.
    I raised 14 SBD to rent small amounts of SP to give as delegations for free to minnows, some venezuelans donated additional 3 SBD, some i sold before the pump, some after, and i got 70 steem ready to pay for the delegations... I tried several approaches and guess what...

Too long without a picture of my new born, this time with her brother!

Still got the money there my requests, on the MB site, begging on the chats, and others were not met, so i since i made a commitment to delegate my wife accepted to delegate for free to:

The 4 of them are working hard at the discord and are curating and have plenty of good ideas and hopes.

  • Communal trading account

    I transfered 500 usd to a bittrex account handled by @menez.trending the idea is to do day trading and generate some money to fuel the projects so i'm not the only one funding this.

I am worried, because he is a XVG-fanboy and is expecting his lambo this year, lets hope he sells before the next dump as he would have doubled the money :)

In any case the deal is that all consolidated earnings after the 1000 Usd$ mark will be split the following way:

10% the trader (him)20% the wild capitalist (me)70% finance projects

I am hoping this will help keep building the #venezuela community on steemit

The human witness

I have been campaigning since the start of my intent looking for the support of stake-holders that beleive that adoption and retention are key issues to address to allow for the growth of the platform, but sadly apparently the ones that think alike, are like myself and have a modest stake in here, I keep looking for support to my witness intent, I applied as MSP PAL witness a few weeks ago, but i am guessing i was not selected.

Also, a week ago I lost the vote of my bigger voter, he told me: just moving around (I don't blame you bro, but whatever i need to tell my self, the truth is that 161 persons have believed in my projects and my little contributions to the social aspect of steem block-chain are important.

I am grateful for this and for your support.

But i would encourage everyone of my voters to support some witness with proyects that have a future, let's be honest, 99.9% of the stakeholders, have decided my proposal it is not interesting... And have chosen to support more important projects from more reliable witness.

Having failed to raise interest or support from the 1% is the reason i am up there next to last

I could use this image from @drakos list to tell myself i am one of the real top 100...

In any case, these last 4 months have shown me that my approach to Steem is not the one the stake-holders are looking for, and knowing that, it doesn't makes much sense i insist trying to become a steem witness.

Actually these months have proven that it is not sustainable to have steem as a day job, and therefore I will soon retire my witness intent (the server is paid for a few more months, so this will happen once i find use for the server).

I am sorry to disappoint the people who believed in my ways, but i have come to realize that to do my projects i don't need to be a witness and the support i am receiving is not because i run a reliable server hosted in a proper datacenter, with the right specs... So lets leave others that space.

The global community

Something we have realized is that a big number of the spanish community has been looking at @jerrybangfield videos before joining and are expecting curators to give them the 400$ vote Jerry told them they will get.

On a side note according to @drakos, Jerry now is less of a used car salesman, it is good to hear that the stake-holders asked for a change of direction from Mr. Marketing and maybe new comers now will have a different expectation from the platform, however i don't hold my breath, unless we see more witnesses interested in growing communities or more money supporting communities (not lick a whale's b**ls community)

Jerry aside, I think in most emerging countries, steem will create a flood of gold diggers and unless we take the time and invest the ressources to educate them, we will just have the usual wave of abusers that will leave once caught, this doesn't seem to matter, since Steemit INC seems to only count success in number of accounts created and not in real users earning steem or investing in steem...

The conclussion

Steem is facing a problem in which the SP and the VP reaching minnows is dammed, only paid for votes and the odd random vote gets to the new comers, so people finds normal to pay to have preference to receive their allocation of the rewards pool... This sounds to me like government handouts given by private parties (It almost sounds like french bureaucracy)

The 1 percenter stake-holders seem to think this is the right approach because they are only looking at their short term earnings (since they cannot trade tokens frozen in SP).

This will lead to manipulation to keep messing with the system to increase the revenue of the one percenters and ignore the root problem which is growth...

8959f765-bbd8-4f4d-88c5-827d87fe3667.jpg

I see that from my next to last position and can't understand it, which leads me to think i am utterly wrong in my views and to question my vision of how a social network thrives...

So it is time for me to step back and re-think my approach, but then, one last picture... to remind me why i am dropping to half time steem block-chain employee.

Don't take me wrong, this is not a rant. I am actually quite happy!


I would like to give a especial thanks, and mention to the 3 persons who are supporting @reveur by delegating to the project for free.

@stellabelle, she is always propossing and promoting out-of-the-box selflessness ideas, and supporting them.
@patrice always dedicated, always human, always there!
@guiltyparties a real friend who's priorities are building networks and supporting people, someone who shares my concept of duty.

THANK YOU !

In the name of the Venezuelan steemians that make @reveur their steemit home

Also there are two people i want to mention as we have spent endless hours chatting and imagining solutions... A big thanks to Terry ( @surpassinggoogle ) for all the time we spent chatting and the inspiration to do good he instills in others...

To the bright, brilliant guy that @neander-squirrel is!

Shall 2018 brings us millions of steemians like them !

Sorry if i am forgetting someone (there is plenty of brilliant people around)


So that is all for now...

HAPPY NEW YEAR


Don't vote for me as witness

Use your vote with people who really matters, like:

@patrice@sircork@guiltyparties
@drakos@arcange@steemgigs
@anarcho-andrei@ats-witness@yehey

And if i can suggest to support this guy @moisesmcardona he is always helping everyone, and is forgotten up-there along with @dropahead and myself.
(we have something in common, we are south american witnesses, this might mean there is no STAKE in our side of the spanish language... so if hablas español, then fucking invest in STEEM (but wait for the korean dump)

Sort:  
Feliz Año 2018 Hermano y Felicidades por todo ese grandioso acontecimiento de tu Hija Recien Nacida.

Lamento lo de la decisión de salida como Witness, pero siempre lo mejor es lo que pasa y seguro ha sido una buena decisión, profundamente analizada.

No obstante, Gracias por continuar con el excelente apoyo de "curación" a los Venezolanos en Steemit, realmente lo necesitan.

Saludos y Dios te Bendiga a ti, a tu esposa y a tus Hijos.

Sad to see you stop witnessing. It's not an easy task. I still enjoy your points of view, hope to still see you around on the chat.

But the most important thing is family. Congratulations on the new baby girl, she's cute and lovely. I wish her health and happiness.

Thanks man!
I will stay around, i hope the guys don't mind i make my bad jokes in the witness chat...

In the end was an effort/benefit decision, what i am doing i can do without being witness, and being witness was not really adding any value to the block-chain or my projects, so i take the path of least resistance and drop what produces no results while keeping what is working...

Hopefully i will have more time to help @sircork on YAH and SSN i like very much those two projects and have been unable to seize the time to pay them the attention they deserve!

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

De nuevo felicidades por esa beba tan hermosa, que Dios la bendiga y a ti muchas gracias por tu apoyo a nuestra comunidad, es realmente invaluable, los venezolanos y en general los hispanohablantes debemos agradecerte por tu proyecto, tu orientación y por el entusiasmo sincero que día a día nos dedicas, que continúen los éxitos en este nuevo año y se cumplan todos tus sueños

Thank you

I'm sad to see you drop out of the witness race, but I can fully understand why now that I read your explanation. Thanks for your efforts and I'm sure you will continue from your other angles.

Congratulations on having such a lovely family; I wish them and you the very best!

I'm not sure if this is just a one-off or the start of my weekly contest actually getting some traction, but I'm happy to report that there are suddenly lots of participants this week. Luckily, I now have a vote slider and can still give all participants an up-vote. With the price of Steem up, even at less that 100% VP, everyone still gets a nice little gift just for participating. I'm eager to see that increase.

Wishing all your readers a very happy new year!

Felicidades por tu bebé hermno, que Dios le dé muchas bendiciones en su vida.. Un abazo de agradecimiento eterno @nnnarvaez.. Atentamente @ropavejero..

Feliz año y felicidades por ese nuevo miembro de la familia. Que hermoso y que privilegio tener esos hermosos hijos, Dios los bendiga y bendiga esa hermosa niña.

Felicidades!!! Muy lindos los niños.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68