You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are we ready to drop author rewards by 20% for the new Steem Proposal System?

in #witness5 years ago

Seeing the social media aspect of steem as another (although incredibly important for community building) dApp on the blockchain, then scraping off a little of the posting rewards for continued development makes sense to me. If the content was/could be monitized then my opinion may be different; yet as it stands it is draining financial value (although adding community value) so does not deserve the prrcentages it presently receives in my opinion.

Not being a proliferate poster (most all of my SPs were traded for BTC) my hope is to earn steem by using my programming skills once the system is in place.

Sort:  

After the system is in place and gives enough proof then I don’t see any issue with reducing author rewards. As a developer, I will also try to earn from this system so getting a stable fund will be for my advantage but I want to protect the content creators at this moment until we can build a safe environment for them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Protect them from what? The real community content creators are not going to run for the hills because the community is more important to them, by and large, than the pittance most make by posting. Reward whores, who flip any steem they get to fiat putting downward pressure on the market, might be driven off as the lower price in steem seems to have done. Good riddance to them in my opinion.

Im not talking about these kind of content creators but real ones who create content because they like creating content and still stay around whatever the prices are. We do have users who deliver great content but yet receive small rewards. I don’t think reducing their reward by 20% for a new system that has not proven its effectiveness is the way to start.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84