Should you become a witness

in #witness6 years ago

What's going on? Here's a quick update on my efforts

  • I bought a Workstation w. i7 processor, 256 GB SSD drive, 300 GB SATA drive, Windows 10 running Docker
  • I ran a dockerized witness node YAY! (but couldn't determine how it is configured)
  • I believe that the witness community dislikes competition and avoids sharing information
  • The GitHub site contains (intentionally?) limited information about setting up and running a witness node
  • I'm not sure whether to continue this effort.

Even if I get a witness node configured correctly and running, I would only earn rewards by getting enough votes to be near the top of the list of witnesses. The steemit community complains about the lack of people contributing resources in this area, but the system seems stacked to against small contributors by high-ranking members of the community who don't want the economic competition. This seems like a potential timesink and I have more immediately rewarding opportunities to pursue.

Maybe I'm wrong. Please tell me what you think.

Sort:  

More or less, based on what you've written, you've shown up at a Formula One race with only a basic idea of how to drive.

Exactly. Perfect analogy. Initially, I had the impression that the witness community wanted and depended on broader participation by the members of its community. Nothing could be further from the truth. The pathway to witnesshood is a very competitive and difficult undertaking that should not be undertaken lightly. Anyone considering doing so should understand this and consider whether it is the best use of their precious time and resources.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62804.06
ETH 2964.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60