Update on my path to steem witnesshood

in #witness6 years ago

Previously, I mentioned my intention to become a steem witness.

I spent a lot of time looking at used servers on eBay. Some of them are fantastically cheap (less than a new desktop computer from walmart), fully refurbished, and come with a warranty from a top rated plus seller with 99.9% positive feedback.

The key advantages of using a server (over a desktop computer) for this kind of home server setup are:

  • hardware redundancy: If a hard drive or power supply goes down, you can swap it out and replace it while the server keeps running.
  • speed: These servers have lots of memory and faster hard drives than a comparably-priced desktop machine.

The drawbacks of using a server as a home server are:

  • Higher power consumption
  • Noise
  • Heat
  • Not easy to repurpose or resell locally
  • Installing a GPU/video card can be problematic, particularly for older hardware

Therefore, I decided to buy a used $600 workstation to run as a proof-of-concept steem witness. If it works as a witness, and there's an advantage to upgrading the hardware, I'll buy a real server. It it doesn't work out for any reason, I'll have a nice workstation to use for other purposes.

Here's a system like the one I purchased: hp-z2_01.jpg

Sort:  

I borrowed the above image from this great article about the HP Z2 Mini G3 Workstation I purchased: https://liliputing.com/2017/01/closer-look-hp-z2-mini-workstation-pc.html

You got a 1.52% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @oropeso!

This post has received a 1.92 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @oropeso

Thank you oropeso for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.52% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Thanks, Jerry. You're my steemit sensei!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61