You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Survey V1 - my answers by @c0ff33a / @derangedvisions

A lot more to answer, but for one thing:

On the subject of Witness Voting, I think decaying votes are a better way to go.
It should be active users who are currently on the platform who vote. Someone can cast a vote, and then, disappear... effectively a non user who is voting on the platform since their vote still counts. We could have an inactive witness with inactive accounts voting for them.

Seems wrong, too me.

Sort:  

Thank you very much, yes the decaying votes is a very live topic with heated debate either way. The way I have seen the responses, the argument against the idea is big investors with 100’s of thousands of dollars held in Steem Power avoid interaction with the blockchain for absolute security - decaying votes would force them to log in regularly to revote the same people over and over.

That said @theycallmedan solved the issue by having an active account holding little, and a secure dormant account he delegates the stake held in it to the active one. I believe that originated from @guiltyparties and it’s a very sensible idea - for my relatively modest stake I’m intending to do the same thing and move my Steem power to a secure account I won’t actively use.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55