It Was a Winter Wonderland

I've never been a big fan of snow, particularly in the city.

My thoughts go from "aw, it's snowing!" to "can it hurry up and melt completely already?". I mean, who here enjoys looking at piles of brown ice blocking the sidewalks and causing nothing but trouble? Anyone?

However, I do find myself feeling excited and willing to run out of the house with my camera whenever the view outside the window consists in a scenery covered in a thick blanket of white fluff. Snow can make for very minimalistic and otherworldly photos sometimes.

These photos were taken in one of the very few times I got to experience the result of snow storms in Switzerland.

DSC_1387.jpg

DSC_1351.jpg

There was no one around. Either because we were the only crazy ones daring to go out to take pictures in those conditions or simply because it was too early in the morning and the neighbours had better things to do (ie. sleep in) to leave the comfort and warmth of their own bed. Or maybe both... definitely both.

DSC_1403.jpg

This happened a couple of years ago. I don't remember how cold it was that morning, but it was cold enough for my fingers to want to end their own lives.

We walked around for a little bit and managed to take a few shots I was moderately satisfied with, and then ran back home to bring our body temperature up to a healthy level. It took plenty of coffee and food for me to feel normal again.

Needless to say, I did not leave the house for the rest of the day.

This is my entry to @dmcamera's #wiwcontest -- WHITE AS SNOW


All Rights Reserved © 2018 Carla Cometto


Steem for the win!

SteemBanner1.png

Sort:  

Whenever I see snow all I want to do is go play in it, but then again I'm Canadian and I love winter sports, so there's that.

Whimsical photos, they look dreamy and I love the models. While you may not have been enjoying it, they at least look like they're having a bit of fun in it!

Good luck!

Ha, you're Canadian so playing in the snow is second nature for you. You probably have a full layer of fur under your skin. I'm weak! T_T

We did have fun though, so I guess getting close to an amputation was worth it. Yay! Thanks buddy :)

Great photos! Growing up and living in Canada, I definitely have a love / hate relationship with snow. It's beautiful coming down and fun to play in, but there comes a time when you just want it gone!

Exactly! It goes from being fun to a complete annoyance in a very short amount of time. I can only imagine how it must be having to deal with tons of it every winter in Canada!! I kind of would like to live the experience, but probably not every winter haha

Haha exactly! I find the extreme cold that comes along with it sometimes to be worse! I had to escape it for a few weeks last month, had a good dump of snow last weekend!

Oh yeah, the freezing chill that comes with it is dreadful. Makes getting out of bed that much harder!
Yikes! I feel for you! I don't know where you're based, but I saw that they were experiencing -13C in Calgary. I hope you're somewhere warmer! 😬

I'm in Edmonton, a couple hours north of Calgary! -13 is us warming up haha. Most of Jan and Feb was -18 up to -30!

I remember that feeling of the hairs in my nostrils freezing during my winters in Ottawa. Hard to explain to anyone who has never experienced it. ❄️

I know that feeling!

Oh wow... Sounds like the kind of place I wouldn't survive for longer than half an hour outside of the house during winter! 😬 Do you guys have an extra layer of heater skin or something? I don't know how you deal with that!!

I hibernate a lot lol I work from home and homeschool my kids so on the coldest of cold days we don't leave the house!

Ah that's perfect! Probably the only way to survive the Canadian winter haha

looks magical. all white! amazing pictures

Thank you! Glad you like them ☺️

Someone needs to invent gloves that keep your fingers warm but are still capable of operating a camera.
I'm not a fan of snow normally, it's the total shambles it causes that I dislike, but it's great from a taking photos point of view.

Yes!!! I've tried so many different kinds of gloves and none of them have worked so far. My fingers still freeze in the cold and find it hard to press down on the shutter release. It's frustrating.
Heated gloves would be any photographer's dream. There would be even more winter pictures around the internet thanks to them haha

Come to think of it, maybe we just need warm cameras!

Now that's a million dollar idea! Sell it and build your empire. I'd be happy to test the prototype 😎

Oh my! Amazing!

Thanks Cam! ☺️

Congratulations! The first image is a winner in the wiwcontest!

No way, that's awesome!! Thank youu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55