Trials of the Lone Wolf: Intro. / Initial Post.

in #wolf6 years ago


The chaos ensued, shortly after my last post.


The air was thick, a fog had rolled in on us, visibility was low...
Strange noises were coming from all angles, a low growing of sorts...

It was then, that I noticed the other set of bodies... They were... Human...
Near the slain bodies of my brethren, lie the bodies of my Human counterparts' brethren...

This was not the Human's doing; I had come to the conclusion.
Upon further inspection, tooth and claw marks were lain heavily on the bodies of the dead.

This was the action of a Beast... Or Beasts...
Something was out there... Something... Absolutely... Entirely... Savage...
And that savagery was close by... Too close... I could hear it lurking in the darkness...

But...
I will tell more of these happenings, later.
For now, let's start at the beginning...


Interlude (Going back to the beginning of it all.)


For 3 years, my Human friends and I have traveled, as a unique pack, across the wilderness;
Through unforgiving terrain and even more unforgiving obstacles, we had prevailed.
Previous to meeting these Humans, I had very little trust in mankind.
All I had ever seen was their savagery, their destruction...

These Humans were different though, they showed me a side I had never seen before.


Beginnings


Injured and alone; Left by my pack; I believed this was my end...

After a gruesome ambush by a pair of Mountain Lions, I had been wounded, badly.
My pack saw no logic in sticking around, as there was nothing they saw fit to do about it.


Image from Google.

They left me behind.

Knowing my end was near, I lied in the snow, thinking about my life.
Thinking about her... The only female I had ever cared for...
Thinking about my time with my pack and how little I must have truly meant to them...
Thinking about my desire to live, my desire to fight for my life...

I stood up, crippled by my wounds, but able to (barely) walk.
Every step was agonizing pain, but I knew that I must try!
But... Try for what?...
Where was I going?
What did I expect to find?
How was it going to help me survive these (surely) fatal wounds?...

I had no answers; Only the will to keep living...

I walked for what seemed like miles... Although I'm sure that was due to the agony I was in...
I walked... And walked... And walked even more...
I felt my consciousness begin to wane. Diminishing ever more quickly with each step.

This is the end... My end...

Then, I heard a noise. Many noises...
Voices.
Human voices!
This alarmed me and I was almost certain this would be my end.
All I had ever seen of these creatures was terror.

They were no allies of mine and nor I of theirs... So I thought...


An Unexpected Surprise


As they approached, I growled ,lowly.
Their snow-capable vehicles (I've come to know as "Snow Mobiles."), transporting them.
Even injured, I maintained my ferocity, I let them know that they were not welcome...

They did not care.
They approached, cautiously, getting closer to my injured side.

I snarled at them, growling ferociously...

They used this pole-thing to subdue me...
Surely, this is where they end my life, surely...
Then, a "muzzle" on my snout...

Now I am definitely dead; This is how it all ends...

Then, they lifted me onto their transportation machine.

I was confused...
What was going on?...

They started off in the direction from which they came, and I began to lose consciousness.
The very last words I could make out, baffled me...
"It's ok, we're going to take care of you, you're safe now."

What?... Safe? With the Humans?... BAH! Impossible!

And then, I blacked out.


The Land Of The Unknown


When I awoke, I wasn't muzzled or tied up in any way... This confused me...
I was bandaged up... I wasn't in any pain... How could this be?...
Wasn't I on my deathbed only moments ago?!
Don't these humans know I am dangerous?!

They did not care.
They brought me some fresh Deer meat... In what they call a "bowl."
I obliged them...
What else could I do? I was surrounded by them...

I ate, quickly, and then laid back down, leery of these Humans...
They just stared at me... Smiles on their faces... Joyous?!

Why were these humans so happy?!
What were their intentions with me?!

This would all come to the light, very soon.


A Bond Is Formed


After about a week of being served meat in the room they kept me... I began to wonder, why?

Why were these humans not killing me?
Why were they... Helping... Me?...
What do they have to gain from this?...

Curiosity aside, I began to, in a way, trust these Humans...
I'm not sure why or even how, but I did.
I stopped growling altogether when they would present my food to me.
I began to feel better as time went on; Stronger.
These Humans had helped to heal me...
I didn't know what else to do, other than to be thankful...
These Humans were not like the rest; Not like the one's I had met and heard stories of...
No, they were different.

As the days continued on, I began to show some efforts to let them know I trusted them.
When they would come to deliver my food, I would wag my tail a bit and tip my head low.
When they would watch me, I would roll around on my back and smile at them...
I wanted them to know that I was thankful.
There's no way I would've survived the aftermath of that encounter, had it not been for them.

A few more days passed by and one Human, "Jack," was bold enough to approach me.
I was still a bit leery... But I stood my ground and kept my composure...
He moved, slowly, in my direction. A hand extended towards me.
I proceeded to slowly step forward, to meet him in the middle.
His hand still extended, I stepped forward and took a slight smell.

AWFUL! GROSS! This Human STUNK!

Is this what all Humans smell like?! I sure hope not...
They didn't seem to smell this bad, over all this time...

In order to not offend him, I licked his stinky hand and showed him I was no threat...
For the time being...
He rubbed my chin and scratched behind my ears... And I must say...
It was fucking WONDERFUL!
My damn leg started to twitch, all of a sudden...

What the fuck is this?!
Why am I losing control of my leg?!
WHY DOES THIS FEEL SO GOOD?!
x.x


Image from Google.

He scratched me a few more times, then stepped back and called me a "Good Boy."

Whatever the fuck that's supposed to mean...
Not sure where they picked that phrase up... But hey, whatever...

This was the first Human I trusted.
This was the beginning of a friendship I would not understand until later.

This was my new pack.



A "Thank You." To My Readers


Thank you for reading the first part of my new story series!
I will be continuing it as often as I can.
If you're interested; Follow me to see the latest posts!
I hope that you find my stories enjoyable to read!
If you like them, please, comment or upvote, I will definitely appreciate it!

I will focus on making the content quality even better as I go forth!
I have a passion for writing and I want to express it on Steemit! :)

Thank you for your support! <3

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 68 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73