The Wolf and Kitty of Edinburgh City!

in #wolf6 years ago (edited)

I'd like to introduce Kiba—my 90lbs wolf from Edinburgh. His favourite place is Arthur's Seat, where he likes to pose like a majestic alpha surveying his precious kingdom.

IMG_9577.JPG

Most people love Kiba and I struggle to take him anywhere without being stopped. I don't really mind because not only does Kiba love the attention and belly rubs, but I enjoy meeting new people. So does Kiba! Unfortunately, there's some people who think Kiba's intimidating because of his size. I suppose he does look like he's about to attack you...with tons of kisses!

IMG_9565.JPG

And now we have Juno—my black smokey kitten! I was super nervous about bringing a kitten home to a gigantic wolf dog, who are known to have incredibly high prey drives.

IMG_3711.JPG

Kiba was 2 years old, friendly and curious, but big. He loved to chase birds, squirrels, and hunt rabbits on Arthur's Seat. I spent weeks researching the best way to introduce them. I had everything prepared for Juno coming home, including a cute bed that was shaped like a strawberry! The cage was simply to separate Juno and Kiba until I knew everything would be okay between them.

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

Nervous, I watched their introduction closely and started by separating and getting them used to each other's smells. Kiba became rapidly excited and was beginning to stress out, not only Juno, but myself. So, eventually I just relaxed and opened the cage door. I waited with bated breath until Juno prodded out, sniffed around, and within minutes, they became best friends. It could not have gone better! I was so lucky and relieved. They're inseparable now.

IMG_9636.JPG

Keep in touch with "wolfandkitty" to follow Kiba and Juno's journey! I'll mostly be posting about them, including anything people would like to know more of, such as how I trained Kiba from 9 weeks old etc., but I'll also post about my writing and how I managed to self-publish six novels in one year.

Wolf and Kitty

Sort:  

Hey Ashley, welcome aboard :) It's always a slow start but keep posting and you won't regret it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68441.01
ETH 3847.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66