I want to change the world, but don't know where to start

in #woman6 years ago
Photo: T. Lance QEII 2017
There’s only a few places that make me feel at peace. One is sitting on the earth, on a cool summer night, soaking up the radiating heat of a crackling fire. It opens a connection to all the beings who came before me and all the beings who will follow. I get lost in the dancing flames and flickers and follow the whispers and whines of the embers.
When I think about all the things in this world that I want to change; cruelty to animals, the demolition of forests and delicate habitat, the absurd amount of garbage I see everywhere, the cultural acceptance of inhumane farming, the electronic device take-over, the alarming rise in depression & suicide, the tunnel vision ignoring most things not impacting us directly (the list is so, so long).
I get overwhelmed.
I want to change it all, but I don’t know how or where to start, I feel so overwhelmed.
So I don’t change anything...
I close the animal cruelty videos. I skip the heart-wrenching videos of homeless people in a city less than an hour from my home. I look the other way when I drive past the cows & pigs on the highway in a trailer on the way to the slaughterhouse. I keep buying from companies that I know don’t give a shit about the earth, the people who work for them or the people who use their garbage-filled products.

“Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.” -Rumi

I started asking myself, “What can I change right now. What are the things that I have control over right this instant.” My shortlist consisted of:
  • what I put into my body,
  • where I buy stuff and
  • the amount of waste I produce.
So I decided to make a few changes that I could handle, that only involved me.
Not my family or my partner. Just me.
First: I stopped using pads and tampons and switched to the DivaCup. I became part of the #halttheassault revolution. No more toxic chemicals and absorbent products directly in my body (right next to some seriously important parts). I don’t have to continuously buy more products that are packaged in plastic and I am not contributing any more waste from the used product. Ya...it’s kind of gross when you really think about it.
Second: Every morning I brew my own coffee at home and pour a to-go..ahem, jug, for class. Until I know the coffee giants are ethically sourcing their beans and not destroying the planet for palm oil, they will not get 1 more toonie from me. Plus, now my coffee supports Canadian companies like Birch Bark Coffee Co. who are people like you and I trying to make a difference in this world.
Third: I use bamboo utensils. Yes, I’m totally a nerdy gear-loving-eco-freako (HA Nina!) that loves getting sideways stares from strangers when I bust out my bamboo fork or chopsticks. What? You just jealous. Eating off plastic is bad enough, but I can’t stand the side serving of guilt knowing it’s going to end up in a “landfill” for 5 gazshillion years after 5 minutes of use. Interested? Here
So there you have it. 3 simple steps I took to quickly and positively impact my body, my conscience, the earth and my wallet.
And basically, “It’s All Good” is what I want in all the products I use. Good for me, good for the people who produced it, and good for the earth. Simple. And since I tell everyone about the DivaCup anyway, so it’s the product I chose to carry first. Stay tuned for more.
Thank you for listening to your heart, you wouldn’t be here if you weren’t feeling the need for change. Keep searching & asking.

DivaCup info here

Sort:  

So good to see your after very long time. Great and amazing post my dear friend @wander.woman. Menstruation is the main problem for every girl or women. Great ideas you discussed here realted to animals, garbages, suicides, depression etc. I completely agree with you. I also learnt so many things from your post.
Keep posting!

Thanks for sharing this post. ☺💙

Have a glorious day!

Congratulations @wander.woman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79