The Lost Virtue of Contentment

in #womanhood6 years ago

LONG THROAT
That's What Our People Call It

Dear female folks,
This is dedicated to you.

Today, I feel the need to address a common practice among young girls nowadays. First of all, I will share an experience I once had.

bag-1853847__480.jpg
Photo Reference

Years ago, I hung out with a guy I just met and I was happy to eat the pizza he ordered. He was even nice enough to buy take-away for me so I was excited that I would have a lot to eat without spending a dime. We were done at the Fast Food and the next thing he said was,
" Now you have eaten, you have to follow me to my house."

I thought it was a joke because I was just meeting him for the first time. When I wrinkled my brows at him in surprise, he repeated the same thing with authority.
" Of course! You think I am a fool? After eating my money, you want to go like that? You girls think guys are fools."

And I was like, "Are you kidding me? "
Well, I refused to go with him; he was just too rude.

Guess what he did next?
The gentleman who was nicely carrying the take-away nylon for me flung it to my face and walked out on me. I had gone out with him with the hope that he will drop me at home so I didn't go with transport fare and the place was quite far from home.
I don't want to bore you with how I had to board a taxi on credit back home.

I went home and felt so stupid. Because he bought something worth less than N3,000 for me, he had the right to disrespect me in public.

Tell me, who should I blame for that?
Nobody but myself. I was doing what our people call LONG THROAT. I was quick to hang out with just anyone, thinking every free thing is actually from a pure heart. I was yet to discover my purpose so I had no sense of direction in life.

question-mark-2405207__480.jpg
Photo Reference

Dear young girl/lady,
You will be treated the way you carry yourself. When you are quick to keep eating from him and asking him to settle your bills, you are making a desperate mistake. If you make yourself look like someone who deserves disrespect because of your LONG THROAT, trust me when I say that all you'd get is disrespect.

Not every free thing is actually free. Don't become a subject of mediocrity because of LONG THROAT.
Out of LONG THROAT, some girls have been reduced to animals with no value.

Instead of looking for who would buy you free things all the time, GET A LIFE.

Develop yourself into a woman of purpose and all other things will be added onto you. Stop being overly materialistic and greedy to the point of selling your dignity to the dogs.

You have a phone that browses but need the latest one so you can feel among the big girls in town.
👆
This is LONG THROAT.

If you can't afford it now, you don't need it yet and that doesn't mean you will never afford it in future.

Don't feel inferior because of what you see in the society; you don't know the source of their money. Their parents may be richer than yours while you jump around belittling yourself before men just because you can't be contented with what you have.

Even the Bible says that godliness with contentment is great gain.

Not all free things are from a pure heart. Don't allow LONG THROAT ruin your destiny.
Be contented.

woman-1006100__480.jpg
Photo Reference

Happy Sunday beloved family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71