Women’s March

in #women6 years ago

I was invited to the Women’s March both last year and this year. I declined both times because it is unclear to me exactly what women are marching for.

The name of it seems like maybe there are some women’s rights issues that we are having. I’m not sure that we are. Are there rights that men have that women don’t ? Something I am unaware of?

Or maybe it’s women marching in solidarity to protest something? So I look at the signs and there are a lot of things being protested, anything from immigration to racism and sexism and war. There doesn’t seem to be a unified message.

I understand why a lot of people dislike President Trump. I don’t care for him personally... ever since I was a kid and saw him come on TV.. I’m like.. ewwee. He’s the type of guy that I never got along with. He’s just like a lot of guys that walk around thinking their shit don’t stink and throw out insults to people and think it’s cool. I think it’s gross. So, are these protests about his public behavior?

I know there are a lot of emotions that drive the women that did march, and I think the media has a hand in that. I can’t stand to watch anyone talk about it. I cringe at every broadcast I see. It’s like everyone is freaking out and losing their minds over a tweet or a rumor that he said something rude. I cringe because they go off the deep end and create extra controversy over it.

For example, the latest media outrage was the “shithole” comment. For one.. this is a rumor and we don’t even know if he said it or not. Let’s say he did. I can see how some people would take offense and see it as a rude comment. However, to over analyze it and turn it into racism is wrong. “Shithole” is not a racist word. Now, if the rumor was that he actually used a racial slur, then yes, if it were true then it is racist.

Due to these points I was unable to accept the invitations to any of the Women’s March events around the country. To me it was just a vague message that “women don’t like Trump”, and while I don’t like him, I’m not going to march to express my dislike.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76