A REAL JEWEL

in #women6 years ago (edited)

This post is in memory of my paternal grandmother, the only one I knew, as my mother's mother passed away when I was barely four years old. We called my grandmother "Mama" and my grandfather was called "Papa" by all the family. The following remembrance was written by my Aunt H., who married my father's brother John. It was printed in a local newspaper many years ago and is somewhat tattered, so I carefully typed the text of the article here as a way to preserve it as well as share it.


A REAL JEWEL

"I had a mother until I was only ten years old, but when I was just 18, I acquired the most wonderful mother-in-law any person could ask for.

"Mama had four children the day she married. Maybe I should explain that. Papa's wife had died, leaving him with three little boys and one little girl. In those days (the early 1900s) there was not a day care center down the street to place them in while he worked. It was customary to remarry so there would be a caretaker in the home.


"I don't know about his first wife, but I can tell you he hit the jackpot with the second one! She was much younger than Pa and had never been married, but she really loved those little ones. Eventually, she had eight of her own (including a set of twins — the poor thing!) and my husband was her fourth one. But people in the town couldn't remember where the dividing line was between the first batch and the second batch of younguns. Later, the older ones would just about scratch out the eyes of anyone who called her their stepmother.

"Then she began to have daughters-in-law and sons-in-law. It was the same old story. She treated them just like they were her own.

"When I became one of those in-laws, I thought she seemed to take a special interest in me, but I soon found out they all thought that. You know, that takes a special person, doesn't it. She was just a wonderful Christian lady who had so much love to give, she just loved everybody.

"I went to college late in life and finished up my education at Valdosta State. That was not but about 14 miles from her home, so I stayed with her a couple of nights a week when I had something special to do at the college.

"Papa had already died so it was just Mama and me. She would have a meal on the table fit for a logger when I got home every afternoon. I talked to some of the members of the family about her spending so much on groceries for me and she wouldn't let me buy any, nor would she take a dime for any.

"They all agreed that I should just let her do it because she didn't eat right when she was by herself. They seemed to think I was actually doing her a favor. When I found out how much she loved Burger King hamburgers, occasionally I'd tell her not to cook that night and I would bring some home.

"When I graduated, I looked and looked and thought about what in the world I could give her to show my appreciaton. What the heck do you give a lady in her 80s who has 12 kids? She didn't need or want for a thing in the world!

"One day I was in a gift shop and found a ridiculous, multicolored, stuffed, toy elephant. The note I enclosed with it said that every time she looked at it she would think of me because she fed me so well I felt I looked like that after two years of her good cooking.

"Ordinarily, Mama was a very quiet, no-foolishness kind of woman. But that day she would hold that silly thing and laugh and laugh, She set it up on top of her television set, and that's where it stayed until her things were divided after her death. She didn't even let children play with it. She said she had lived to be an old woman before she got her first stuffed toy.

"When the family gathered to divide her things a few years later, my daughter said she didn't want a thing in the house except that stuffed elephant. It had a double sentiment to it for her since I had given it to her grandmother.

"Dear God, help me to love like that dear lady did who had been my mother for many more years than I knew my own mother. Amen."

written: February, 2003
printed in the newspaper of Ashburn (GA)

I am so grateful to my aunt for these wonderful memories of Mama.

elegantPINK-1769669_1280.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for sharing this piece. Is the newspaper cutting still in good shape for a photo?

I never had an experience of interacting my with grandmas, both my mom's and my dad's side of the family, because both of them passed on before I came about. However, I have this very clear memory of seeing my mom's mom before, right down to the chair she liked to sit on outside the house door, by the road, so she could see the cars went by. Till today, I never could understand that scene, because it's too vivid for a fantasy, but too unrealistic to be a memory.

The clipping is in somewhat acceptable shape for a photo — however, the printing from the reverse page shows through, making the text of the article somewhat difficult to read. Also, I didn't include a photo of the clipping, itself, because the article mentions the family name as well as the name of the very tiny home town, so I opted for privacy by removing those details when I typed the article here.

That is an extremely interesting thing you shared, about the vision of your grandmother in her chair outside the door, especially since she passed before you were born. I have heard some people mention a thing called "genetic memory," where it is theorized that some primal memories can be passed to descendants, somehow, through genes. If such really exists, it might explain such a vision. We humans are such complex organisms that science and psychology are only beginning to understand how our minds and bodies truly work. Thank you for sharing that!

Such a sweet and poignant remembrance. I remember my grandmother in her with the way there were plentiful of food to eat. It's the same thing with my maternal grandma (we call our grandmothers "lola"). She sees to it that you eat and eat and I do but much to her consternation I never grew fat only taller :)

That is certainly a talent grandmothers have — even in lean times, they manage to make food stretch a long way by not wasting anything! I remember my grandmother always setting a feast at the table at every meal, even when it was just family visiting. The garden behind the house provided a huge array of vegetables and fruits, and my grandmother home-canned them (in vacuum-sealed jars) so there was always food during the winter. I like that you call your grandmothers "lola" Thanks for sharing! 😊

My lola has gardens too mostly beans and that makes her busy.

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Thank you so very much! 😊

That's a great idea, preserving something so sentimental on the blockchain.

Thank you! I've heard of others preserving memories on the blockchain, too, and I think it is a perfect use for it! Thanks for reading and commenting!

Such a lovely tribute. Thank you for sharing. You have a treasure in those memories and that little elephant is an inspiration.

Thank you, kindly, for your lovely comment!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you for the resteem!

Wow! This is a touching post! Such an amazing tribute to your loved one!

Thank you so much!

Very beautiful story! She sounds like a very wonderful genuine human!! My grandmother was a lot like this haha just way way later!! haha thank you for sharing this great story!

Thank you for the lovely comment, and sharing about your grandmother, too!

Sorry for your loss ma'am. I lost my dad 5 years back. I know how this feels.

Thank you, and my condolences to you, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56