You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sex is normal - so why do we shield our teens from it?

THIS! This is part of rape culture, this is part of the oppression of self-love, and this is part of why there is so much killing (war and otherwise) in our world.

Why is violence more acceptable than sex? Why can't we make sex normal, creating healthy culture around it? I needed that when I was a teen, but it wasn't there. I needed to read books "where the characters talk openly about what they want, what makes them feel good." I didn't find those books. My sexual journey has been rough because of lack of sexual education and the lack of respect society has around this very human act.

I write fiction (Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Women's Fiction, Romance), and there's always a romance involved. Some of my books include erotic scenes. I'm sorry there wasn't room in that writing group for erotica. Writing is my therapy, on many levels, and allowing myself to write about healthy relationships has helped me work out my own issues.

Thank you for raising your voice here. This is a topic that needs a lot more exposure. (lol!) Keep writing! :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words. I needed books depicting healthy sexual relationships as a teen as well, but sadly there were none. My erotica is definitely aimed at adults, but my erotic romance is more toned down.
I agree that there should be more room for self love and also self exploration and self pleasure. How are you going to find out what you like sexually if you don't explore your own body?

Yes & Also if you visit other countries, the view of sex is a lot different. The way they view violence is a lot different as well, people aren’t so quick to take out their phones and record nonsense. Instead they stop it in its tracks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59