You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Toxic masculinity is a problem, but not one for women to solve

in #womenspeakout6 years ago

Exactly on all counts! Toxic masculinity is the worst - but I feel like younger people are less attached to gender roles and stereotypes. I've read that the numbers of gender non-conforming teenagers are increasing - a good sign in so many ways, I think. Less stigma, worry, danger. More support from parents, etc. But yes, such a long way to go, especially systematically speaking. My husband and I are doing our damnedest to raise our son to be sweet, kind, sensitive, and to know the meaning of consent...
Cheers :-)

Sort:  

I am hoping change is coming, butI still see so many of my son's friends' dads (and in some cases, mums) forcing their sons and daughters into gender stereotypes.

Yes, there's always that...There's a woman at my son's school who can't ever say anything without it being this is for boys, this is for girls. WHAT? ugh. I pity her kid. I have faith that they will break free one day though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71249.51
ETH 3815.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41