Another Staff has been Carved, and it's Pretty ...

in #wood6 years ago (edited)

... and practical and useable too.

As I told you here, I have been working on a ¾ staff* made from rhododendron wood, a strong, dense and hard wood well suited for canes and staffs.

Here is the end result:

The wood at the top looked like a hare to me (opinions differed, but it's my staff, so there):

So, I put in some effort to make it look even more like a hare:

All this was done with a pocket knife and sandpaper, except for the bottom bit of the staff, which is rather more high-tech, for usability reasons.

The wood has been treated with beeswax for protection and to make it look better.

I'm really chuffed with the result, also because it turned out it is very well suited for hitting people over the head with, or smite them, as I like to call it.

A note to Katharsisdrill: I read somewhere Celts didn't allow themselves to eat hares; the animal must have held a special significance to them. I'm trying to find out what and why.

* This means ¾ of body length; the Ivy Staff is full body length.

Sort:  

Great job @ocrdu. Glad you're please with it.

What did you decide to do about the back in the end? 😊

I left it as it was, just sanded off the sharp bits. It is still open for ideas, even though the wood by itself looks nice as well.

I love how you've got a regular curved edge at the top. That must be quite hard to do by hand with a hard wood.

Will you be keeping the staff yourself?

I have a very good pocket knife, but the rounded edge involved mainly sanding paper and patience.

The Ivy Staff, the ivy art, and this staff are not for sale, as I haven't looked at them myself for long enough yet.

I will, however, consider utterly ridiculously high offers 8-).

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

That's really beautiful!!!

Thank you. It was fun to make as well, I just followed what I thought was already there.

It does look splendidly like a hare. A fantastic job you have done here!

A bit of smiting never goes amiss

It does keep the flock in check, without damaging the Ivy Staff.

wow!!!! Really beautiful!!!! I love your wooden works, but I have to say this is my favorite and sure, that is a hare face!

It looks and sounds very nice at least you have something a quality to hit him over the head with thanks for sharingin @ocrdu

Turned out most excellent. Love the bun-rabbit face. I'm sure it will hold up well, when smite-ing away.

Thank you. I still have the practical problem of finding a rubber end cap with a 28 or 29mm inside diameter to fit around the black bit at the bottom. They must be out there somewhere.

I shall try to check at the local hundreddollarstore (hardware) when I am there. Though with your engineering background, you probably know more places than I, for rubber cane tips and all. (Though I'm not below putting a couple winds' of duck tape on something like that, trimmed with the razor blade to look nice, of course, to make a 31mm I.D. fit too. Now if I can only catch a few waterfowl at the park, to make some new tape).

Leave the ducks alone, you monster! Go hassle a duct.

This sort of mechanical stuff is not exactly my field of engineering, by training or experience. The world of rubber cane tips is new and exiting to me, so much more visible than electrons and bytes.

I do know, however, that a wooden bit joining metal tubing can last for very long, if you can make sure it doesn't move about and if there is no more metal fatigue in other places.

O :
Speaking of Ducks taped. I'm pretty sure you would enjoy Will Bullas artworks, if you are not familiar with them. Seems they are right up your humor alley.
I've also never known anyone to get as giddy about rubber cane tips, but then, there are many sizes and shapes and colors to choose from.

I fear I may have too much movement in my fix, to last a long time. The sanded dowel is not all that even in cross-section. Nail pinning is next, but I fear when I drill the aluminum, it will then be a weak link in the 'chain'. I'm pretty sure I use this machine beyond it's engineering specs, winging heavy grass all about. The magic blade allows this abuse. We shall see...

Better off not asking me about electrons and bytes. Though I do have an engineering joke:
"Do your electrons byte?"
"No. Not according to Mahitabell's Theory of Charged Bytes".
ZAAP!....
"Yeowch...I thought you said your electrons don't byte".
"Those are not my electrons. Mine are at home, in 2S² orbit."

OK, needs some work.

I am, and he is. Makes me smile or giggle uncontrolably after a few beers.

"Hey, you got any of that inhibitor of 3-phosphoshikimate-carboxyvinyl transferase? Shopkeeper: "You mean Roundup?" Scientist: "Yeah, that's it. I can never remember that dang name."

My favourite:

A physicist, an economist, a mathematician, and an engineer, travelling together by train, cross the border between England and Scotland.

The physicist points out of the window and says: "Look, the sheep in Scotland are black!"

The economist doesn't even look up, and says: "According to my models there are no black sheep, so I will ignore it and maybe consider it as special case later."

The mathematician looks at the physicist wearily and says: "Stop generalising. Just say there are black sheep in Scotland."

The engineer looks around in disbelief, sighs deeply, and says: "All we know for certain is that there is at least one sheep in Scotland that is black on at least one side."

You had to be there, I suppose.

Ha haa, got a good chortle out of that one. (And I wasn't even there). Even understood it, and I'm not in ANY of those camps...compared to mine, which I made up, and STILL don't quite get.

I'll have to practice the Roundup joke for awhile, tripping up the name might make a mess of it in the telling.

Electron joke for beginners, just in case you are a beginning electron joker, no offense intended:

Proton to neutron: "Damn, I dropped an electron."
"Are you sure?"
"Yes, I'm positive."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85