Wood Spirit Carved in Scrap of Pine

in #woodspirit4 years ago

I do love wood carving and whittling! It's been a year since I began this journey.

Last night I had a terrible time sleeping. Back hurt. Head hurt. Tooth bugging me. Just a bad night all around.

So, I got up and grabbed my flexcut carving knife and a project I'd drawn, but wasn't sure if I could do, and headed onto the front porch.

Whittling in the dark is a bit of a bitch. There was just enough light to see the lines. And every line seemed to have it's own shadows.

But, when you can't sleep - you can't sleep!

Anyways, here's my little wood spirit breaking out of his pine box.

This first picture is the idea. The wood spirit is the drawing in the center.

woodspirit4.jpg

We begin with the nose and hands since they're our highest points.

woodspirit1.jpg

Then we dig in :-)

woodspirit.jpg

woodspirit2.jpg

woodspirit3.jpg

I've got plenty more carvings coming, so maybe - FINALLY - I'll have something interesting to SteemIt about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64802.57
ETH 2975.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69