Honeysuckle, Strangled Wood, and Spirally Walking Sticks

in #woodwork6 years ago (edited)

Let's start with a nice photo of wild honeysuckle I made:

What does this have to do with walking sticks?

Bear with me.

Honeysuckle is a climber; it spirals its way up using the support of just about anything it can find:

When it gets older, the vines harden and become less flexible:

It will still hold on tight, and the young tree it is on will grow, and be "strangled" by the vines. This explains honeysuckle's other name, which is woodbine:

Eventually, the tree will look like this:

There is a very old tradition in my region of The Netherlands of making walking sticks out of this deformed wood. In the local dialect these are called goastok:

They were relatively rare because of the small chance of finding a suitable piece of wood. Owning one was a sign of distinction and tradition, and they were mainly used on special occasions.

I am determined to make one myself some day, as soon as I find a nicely strangled tree.

No, I didn't have to wait years between making these photos; I found these stages of strangulation all on the same day. Unfortunately, the best one wasn't thick and strong enough yet to use.

Sort:  

wow..amazing...capture..

Great post @ocrdu. If you found all three of those on the same day then surely there must be a suitable tree lying around somewhere.

Presumably you have to wait for them to die do you?

Does the strangulation kill them?

No, not usually, but it does happen.

Ideally, you get the wood when it is alive and then let it dry; it is often too far gone when it has been lying on the forest floor (and there wasn't anyway).

This is why I like storms and pruning going on in big parks; I can get the wood without feeling guilty.

If I ever find a suitable young tree for a goastok, however, it is going down 8-).

Well I hope you find one soon @ocrdu although it might be a bit tricky to sand where the honeysuckle meets the tree. 😊

Fortunately, I'm a tricky and patient sander.

It has lots of meaningful and function, God creates all, thankyou for sharing

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Amazing plant and the walking sticks look excellent! The flower in the first photo is beautiful with lovely color. Great shot! ;)

Thank you! It's a beautiful flower, that helped 8-).

You're welcome! And that's because you took great photos, too! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01