Is it a UFO

Light.png

So I looked up above me and saw the craziest thing.
It shimmered with an awesome and haunting glow.
It was just hovering there very geometric looking.

It's the light I built for my wife.

It's mostly 3/8 Baltic birch with both wenge and zebrawood accents which are housed in 3/8 dados the lights are fixed to more 3/8 Baltic birch ply housed in dados.
All the dados were cut before trimming the sides to width.
The sides were trimmed to width on my table saw flipping where possible to keep the angle correct.
I also ran them through riding on a piece of scrap with a 3/8 piece riding in the pre cut dado to keep things more accurate.

The Recessed pieces of ply to which the lights are affixed were done on a custom sled i made to do 60 degree angles seeing your typical miter gauge only goes to 45 degrees.

After that individual honeycombs were assembled clamped with painters tape and allot of rubber bands. Once I had enough to start putting together I began assembling them with 3/8 ply in the dado that was already cut as a key to keep everything straight.

The light sockets are ceramic two pin types that I got off of amazon as well as a 12v power supply.
It was allot of wiring but I did three circuits off of the power supply with two banks of lights facing downwards, on on a switch and one always on; the other faces upward as you can see. The switches are pull chains for either lamps or ceiling fans.

light 2.JPG

Thanks for reading comment if you have any questions.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

We have a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

1createdwoodworking.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73