ANTIQUE KEY HOLE SAW!!!

in #woodworking6 years ago

IMG_0424.jpg

Hi guys , this is a key hole saw that I got from my Great Grandpa. This has crosscut teeth that need to be manually sharpened. This saw is very fragile and spends it's life in a curio.

IMG_0425.jpg
Some people called these Jab saws, because you could jab the saw into soft material. They were also used for cutting tight curves. My Great Grandfather was a Luthier (violin maker) and maybe this was used in very basic wood shaping?
I don't know who the maker of this tool was, all I know is that it came out of Indiana or Kentucky.....
How about it, does anyone have any history on a tool like this????
Thanks for stopping by, if you liked my work feel free to upvote an resteem :)

Sort:  

Great story and that's a fine piece of history too. I have a lot of my grandparents things. It's a great idea and is what this platform is about. Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

great story

Something completely new :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98