Wood Changing Color With Age

Back in December I turned a little bowl from a branch of African Sumac that I found. Fresh cut, the wood is really pale. The bowl has been sitting on my wife’s desk for six months now and you can see that the color has gotten a bit deeper.

That’s from December on the left and today on the right.

8CAED599-534C-41B9-B12E-2235F0391026.jpeg

The only finish is carnauba wax applied by heat of friction.

See ya,
Skycranehandwork

Sort:  

I like the darker colored grain in the turning. Really makes pieces interesting.

Many years ago I did some of the same with the bright white wood that you get in purpleheart scrap.

Damn that's purty...... Your listening is getting really good....... I still haven't been able to get my stuff out of storage so I'm kinds stuck as to what I can do

Damn that's purty...... Your woodturning is getting really good....... I still haven't been able to get my stuff out of storage so I'm kinds stuck as to what I can do

Congratulations @skycranehandwork! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55