Word Poetry Challenge #6: Time

in #wordchallenge6 years ago (edited)


direct image source
I
“This is a precious gift”, a gentle voice declared as it held out a glowing hand,

In it was a peculiar object, a beautiful contraption of glass and swirling sand,

“Make good use of each moment, little one, your life has now begun.”

“Excuse me, but, I did not ask for this,” I replied, but the omnipresence was gone.

II
The strange contraption stood on a table, I knew it now to be an hourglass,

I grew to learn of its golden glow for all the happy moments that came to pass.

Madness made the glass shake violently, sorrows turned the sands dark,

Ennui was dull brown, and among them sorrow made the most frequent mark.

III
“This is not how I would define a gift, this is not a welcome present!”

I shouted furiously towards the hourglass I’ve come to resent.

Malevolence made me lunge towards it, intent to shatter my own time,

Ending it would be poetic justice, I reasoned, I’ll paint my own finish line.

IV
“Try again, little one, try once more,” the voice prodded, as the hourglass grew warm,

Infinite hopefulness won over anger, I thought another try won’t do me harm.

Maybe standing at the edge of breaking henceforth gave me a better view,

Every golden, darkened, mundane moment thereafter are now precious gifts I would not undo.

Four stanzas with four line each in honor of time’s four letters, and four stanzas whose first letter of each sentence make up the theme. I hope you liked it. 😊

Sort:  

I like this so much. Great work!

Omo. screams and cartwheels in excitement
Seriously though, thank you! Not only for the kind comment but also for being one of those who made this contest possible, you guys rock! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71