Video files wiping causing minor heart failure.

in #work5 years ago (edited)

image

Reading @cryptoandcoffee’s ramblings this morning about shrink wrap and how it is a stressful couple of weeks . I’m having small heart attacks myself . Every year my job role is changed for a couple of months when I get involved with the annual work conference. It is a big deal in the company and we have normally around 500 people attending across the UK & Ireland. It takes place in Manchester this year in a big venue that used to be a train station photo above . I fell into the role as joint chief technical officer 😂😂. I could work a mouse and I’m quite handy with PowerPoint so the job was mine . Since that first year we have gotten a lot more sophisticated . Over the last two years there was someone asked to make a video with all our passes achievements over the year. I remember him under so much pressure that he cracked and I stepped in to give him a hand. The guy made it clear he wasn’t making another video ever again and what was expected of him was too much . He was a general manager and not a video producer . So I was called to a meeting in London in December and was tasked with the video. So I began the ground work last month and I’ve done the video but it was a lot of stress. My biggest problem is memory and transferring drafts. The file itself is 32GB which is massive . So the traditional methods of transferring a file are gone . So I’m using google drive which is great and I am also transferring it In a few more ways .
The other day I had heart failure . My MacBook has slowed considerably because you have to store the video files on the desktop so it plays smoothly. This takes up lots of memory and I maxed out. I maxed out the memory so much that I could not delete anything into trash . So I had to get onto Apple support but it’s my 4th close call. At one point they were going to wipe my disk which would have me losing everything .
Another day I wanted to save some memory and transfer the Final Cut Pro file into a hard drive and the video would not play or open . Again minor heart attack. All I want to do now is get the video over and done with before I’m breathing through a brown paper bag as I’ve put a month into this and if I lose it now I’m walking out the door and never coming back.
Luckily the movie is 99% done and I have just one or two typos and I’m gonna transfer it and it’s gone . I can’t wait to get back to normal!
I know I’m doing it wrong as the 10minute movie file shouldn’t be that large but I shall learn that lesson before next years one if I stupidly decide to do it . And no @janton I am not getting paid extra! 😜

Sort:  

Howdy sir blanchy! that makes no sense to not pay you big time for all that hassle if no one else wants to do it. Use that as your bargaining chip next year. Tell them you'll do it but it'll cost them. If they find someone else then you're off the hook and have fewer heart attacks. They're darn lucky to have you though, they need to know that. I'll tell them that if you want me to!

I’d love a gun wielding Texan to ring them up in a deep Texan accent and get me off the hook. They may call the police but at least il be off the hook for next year 😂😂😂.

Posted using Partiko iOS

haha! I know you'd love to be off the hook sir blanchy but you are also very dedicated aren't you? So if they say they need you then you'll have to do it again even though it's brutal. You need a brilliant, gifted assistant who is good in video, audio, filming, all that stuff. You have another year to find someone!

32GB for a 10min video seems pretty big, are you working for Imax?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I'm doing something wrong but its done now and signed off so I'm happy.

Sounds like you are rendering raw files. .mp4 h256 gives great quality and small files.

Posted using Partiko Android

Get well soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can only imagine. Had a few panic attacks myself during my Thesis work last year...glad I was at least able to present something

What was thesis on ? Something in finance I reckon? Banking?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good luck with it, you'll be fine I guess, maybe you'll get more white hair in the process but you'll be fine 😀🤞

One or two extra won’t matter .

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @blanchy!

You just got a 27.98% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.777 which ranks you at #4907 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 4917).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #94.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71