Embracing the struggle of not feeling like you're enough

in #work3 years ago

I never feel like I'm enough.

No matter how much I learn, no matter how many things I do, it's never enough for me. I want to do more, and I want to become better.

And I'm not alone in this, obviously. There are a lot of people who have to struggle with the frustration of not being enough, of not being the ideal person that they'd like to become.

But, in time, I got to the conclusion that it's better to feel like this. It's better to be annoyed by the fact that you're not who you want to be, and it's even better if we don't become those people any time soon.

The way I see this goal of ours, to become better and to improve, is like a journey, and as with any journey, you need to move into a direction in order to properly experience it. If you're not moving, then it's sitting and nothing else. You need to move, and to explore, in order to experience more and to know more.

And feeling like you're never enough is just what we might need for us to just move forward. It's just what we might need to never stop going towards something. We want to become more, and we want to have more, therefore we work every day towards all that.

Now, I am very well aware of the fact that there are always other ways of thinking. There are people who are happy with little, and there are people who don't want to become more than what they are. There are others who like to experience life in another way, to get rid of all possessions, and to just live in the moment.

That is, obviously, just fine. Everyone needs to do whatever they need in order to be happy. Some need to have more, others need to be better, while others need very little.

If, however, you're like me, and you want to be more, and the feeling of not being enough eats you from within, then a way to get rid of that frustration, at least for a while, might be to embrace that feeling.

It's okay if you're not enough, and that should motivate you towards working in order to be who, or what, you want to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73