I was screwed into a job at a scrap-purchase point

in #work6 years ago

About 4 years ago, I accidentally got to work as a person buying scrap metal. I do not regret this not entirely my decision, although at the beginning I had very mixed feelings.

But from the beginning.

After finishing, or rather abandoning my studies for some time, I lived on modest savings I had, additionally earning myself here and there on the Internet using revshare and other such inventions.

However, it was not enough and it was time to find a job. After a few days of browsing the portals with job offers, dozens of sent CVs and several job interviews, browsing one of the portals, I saw an ad entitled "Work at the computer for people with disabilities".

As I have a disability and met all of their requirements, I sent a CV. I did not pay any particular attention to this announcement, it was rather something like: We'll see what it will be, maybe I'll hit something cool.

Well, it happened. A day later, a nice woman called me to invite me to the office. During the conversation, she only asked about a few details about myself, from the conversation I inferred that the work was sitting, behind the desk and would consist only of paying money and keeping records at the scrap-purchase non-ferrous metals point. So it's cool. We made an appointment for the next day.

metal-3331407_1920.jpg

I got up in the morning, I checked which bus I would get to the place, I took a shower, shaved, dressed and went to an appointment.

I got off at a bus stop about 10 minutes from the destination point, turned on the map on the phone and go.
The area in which this scrap metal center was located is considered in Olsztyn to be the most pathological and alluring region in the entire city. Probably for this most of the points of buying colored metals opens here.

I've been here before, but always passing through, I've never had a direct interest here. This time it was different. After passing the old railway depots, a few dilapidated tenement houses, plants producing gravestones, I came to the place and I was terrified.

I saw a square with 2 containers, a tin shed, a huge building that used to be a railway warehouse or workshop, I heard a squeaky grinder, a bang of metal elements being thrown, some older guys were spinning around the square, even though it was only 12 am, at first glance they were a long time after a few beers, everything looked a bit like a den or a hollow, but in the end, are scrap stores not looking like that?

I began to quickly think about what I'm doing, I can not get involved in such a company, even though I will be the only man for paperwork and so most of the time I will spend among people whose only sense of life is getting drunk and collecting so many cans for the next drinking.

I hesitated and went on, I was still 15 minutes before the agreed time, so I decided to go and think about everything again. I made a small circle around the area, I decided to go in, see, talk, finally the conversation itself does not oblige. And since I made an appointment, it would not be nice to put these people out now

To be continued…

If you find some misstakes in my english please correct me, im not native speaker :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61