You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't be cheap with your tools

in #work6 years ago

But because of all the money I spent on this tool that I use to work every single day, some people criticize me for my decision, especially my family, telling me I should have purchased something more practical, like a car.

I don't know if this was just an example or not. I remember reading in one of your articles that your family wasn't much supportive of your decision to work as a freelancer. Now they advise you to buy a car? :D

Before every purchase, I ask myself the question: "Do I really need this?"
Most of the times, the answer is: "No."

The money I save by not buying useless shit I don't really need slowly builds up the savings for the things I actually need in order to make more money. I think you've talked about this as well in one of your posts.

It just makes me laugh when your family advises you to buy something you probably don't need and which would cost you even more money anyway.

Sort:  

I think that what you do is one of the best ways to use your money - investing it into something that will provide you with even more income. Happy to see you make good use of your money, I still have to learn how to do that myself.

Related to my family - they never really supported me when it comes to freelancing, and they still tell me, with every occasion they get, that I made the wrong choice and I should've stayed in college.

The reason they wanted me to buy a car instead of a computer is that because for some reason, they think it's a great investment. They don't realize that it is indeed a good investment if I would use it every day to go to work, like they do, but I work from home, and I hate driving anyway, so that's that. The only reason I have a driver's licence is because they kept telling me to get one in case there's an emergency one day and I need to drive someone to a hospital or something like that.

I guess this is because of the differences between generations and the way we look at things - we are more open to taking risks and doing all kind of things we can't know will succeed, while our parents and grandparents are avoiding that at all cost and they focus on the safest choices.

Too bad they don't realize that these days the safest choices, like going to college and getting a normal job, being sure you can live a great life just working for a company and never having to learn anything new, are the riskiest things to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80