Portugal vs. Spain World Cup 2018 (3-3)

in #worldcup6 years ago

Ok, I might be a little late on this (but not that late). The Football World Cup (Soccer as it's called in North America) began recently, hosted by Russia.

I have this idea of posting 2 songs by two artists that I know of form each country. I have a music background and I'm an avid listener of every genre there is. If there's a feeling in a song and I resonate with it, it goes into my playlist. Music brings us together and it's a great chance of sharing some knowledge.

Yesterday's match was between Portugal and Spain, two neighboring countries sharing similar styles of play, the first one being the current European champions. Arguably the best football player in history, Cristiano Ronaldo played on of the best games of his career. We'll have the chance to talk about him later on during the tournament, as I'm sure that Portugal will have a long way. A special note regarding his... steem power. He could have easily played at the same intensity for another 30 minutes or so.

Portugal is a beautiful small country that's kind of *the* preferred destination for visiting and also living in. Madonna has moved recently there, having one of her sons playing for a local football team (youth). I've been to Portugal and I've been amazed by its beauty, infrastructure, and people.

Representing Portugal today is Ana Moura, the most famous contemporary Fado singer. Fado is a Portuguese style of music that's been popularized in Europe in the 70'. Ana Moura toured successfully the world and representing Portuguese music at it's best. So intense, so powerful, so dynamic.


Spain is a synonym for football (past 2000 era). It has the most powerful internal championship (some say, although I wouldn't say it's more intense than Premier League). As a country, is big and full of history and culture. Multiple civilizations have conquered the land and left a mark on the architecture and habits of the people living in some areas.

Spain so big and diverse and requires more than 2 weeks that I spend 3 years ago when I visited. Right now, as in so many parts of Europe, there are some tensions regarding some territories. I really hope it won't turn to violence and thing will settle for the greater good.
I choose a song by Los Canos and Malu. The first ones were a very successful band at the beginning of the 2000's. They had an album toured Europe a little and had at least a #1 hit song, Nina piensa en ti. After that, they split and followed solo carreeres with no significant success.
Malu is a well-established singer and songwriter in Spain. I'm not aware of her international success. From time to time, I search about this artists on Youtube and Spotify.

Sort:  

Congratulations @emanuel1986alex! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @emanuel1986alex! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75