Qatar 2022 | Why you should boycott it

in #worldcup6 years ago

So the 2018 world cup is well underway and I hate to be a party pooper, but I saw a couple of documentaries [linked] on the Qatar 2022 FIFA world cup and am so disgusted by the treatment of workers in Qatar that as a moral human being I feel the urgent need to share my shocking findings with the Steemit community.

Qatar is a modern day slave state, even tough it has the highest per capita income in the world, it treats migrant workers that emigrate there worse than animals. As soon as the migrants land in Qatar, their contracts are torn up, passports taken from them and they are not allowed to leave until the company says they can [2]. Their salaries are usually much less than what they were promised and they are made to live in the most horrific slums you have ever laid your eyes on (almost made me puke when I saw them in the documentary). Oh I did I mention they can't leave since their passports are held by their bosses!

To make things worse they are made to work long hours in scorching heat (50 degrees), the ITUC predicts that 4000 workers will have died constructing world cup stadiums by 2022 [1].

I don't know about you guys, but even though I love football, I probably can't get myself to watch the cup knowing the stadiums were built by modern day slaves, many of whom died during construction. IMO we have to get an anti-slavery message across to Qatar in the only way these tyrants and fiends will understand, with our wallets, by boycotting the cup.

Please watch the documentaries (especially the Tifo football one) and tell me what you think.

References

[1] https://www.news.com.au/world/asia/death-toll-rises-in-the-lead-up-to-the-2022-world-cup/news-story/43896b31023dd6ab6ed213637fe4d3e7

Documentary Links

[2] ESPN UK:

[3] Tifo Football:

Sort:  

You got a 100.00% upvote from @botcoin courtesy of @pkcheese!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73