Where Poets Dream and Cry Poetry Challenge

in #wpchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Welcome, Steemians,

To the new Poetry Challenge, Where Poets Dream and Cry.

In this challenge, I am asking you to create a poem using one of the images below and let the content of that poem convey to your readers your thought process and your imaginings when you set down to write a poem, share what inspires you.

You can preface your poem with for example, “ last night I saw in my dream.”

Or “It was something in her/his eyes”

Or “I saw that color everywhere it seems"

Or “now its time to escape from the everyday norm and close the door and enter my secret space.”

Or you may choose to take it in an entirely different direction. The challenge before you is to create your piece to flow poetically.

Also unlike in the last challenge where I asked Poet participants to write to evoke a feeling in their reader, in this challenge I ask that you write your poem or prose so that your reader can clearly see according to your interpretation where Poets Dream and Cry.

Show them in your words composed of beautiful, colorful or dark images, if there is water running or tears falling don’t just tell them that show them water running or tears falling in the masterful way you use your words.

The 7 Picture Prompts You May Choose From For This Challenge:

Prompt 1

Prompt 2

Prompt 3

Prompt 4

Prompt 5

Prompt 6

Prompt 7

The Challenge Rewards

1st Place - 7 SBD

2nd Place - 5 SBD

3rd Place - 4 SBD

The Challenge Rules

1. Write a Poem or Prose between 75-600 Words

2. You must choose 1 picture from the Picture Prompts to use with your entry.

3. One of the tags in your post should be – wpchallenge

4. Winners will be chosen with consideration of the following: grammar, rhythm, imagery, and creativity.

5. Upvote this post and resteem it to your blog

6. (Links Only) drop a link to your entry in the comment section below.

The deadline to enter this challenge is Saturday, January 27, 2018, at 12 midnight, Eastern Standard Time, Georgia, USA.

Oh, Beautiful and Magnificent Poets on Steemit Will you accept the challenge? So Be It…..

Let the Challenge Begin…..!!!


Cover Image- Courtesy of theelf-factory.com

Image 1, 2 Courtesy of Pinterest

Image 3 -7- Courtesy of Pixabay

Sort:  

I have been silent as I have watched the entries come in over the last 6 days. But today I had to stop all other things I am doing and connect with all of you in this space and say. Your support of me and this challenge, has brought me to tears, It has strengthened my purpose and my belief that I can accomplish whatever I dream, visualize and set out to do. When we post we are not sure who will see it or who will show up to support. What all of you have done here truly takes my breath away. My main objective in doing one contest /challenge after another is to engage with all of you as poets/ literary artist and assist and encourage you to bring out all of your gifts, and to encourage you to polish, edit and refine your work to bring forth your very best. And as we all know we will not win every contest, we will not always get recognized for the hours and energy we devoted to create our poetry, but just know that on this day I see you all and so do many others and know that you will continue to been seen by many more as you continue your journey. If you are serious about being a poet you will be successful, if you stay the course. Much love and success to you all on Steemit and In life. ~ Ren

Thank you so much @rensoul17 for this moving comment... Speaking for myself I'm so ecstatic that all of our poetry is so positively impactful for you :)
I see you too ! You're doing so much bringing us all together

It is the nurturing mentoring from you that makes this process blessed. You inspire people to dig deep.
Be proud of yourself, great work.
I just posted mine. x

Yes, to dig deep and produce poetry from the depths of our hearts and inspire others!!

isn't made possible without your support and resolve to take the leap and broadcast your message out into the creative space, Ren - finding you through this initiative in my very short time on Steem has connected me with so many other like minded writers, poets and creatives, and i can never thank you enough for that.

peace and love, always, and thank you thank you thank you @rensoul17.

Rensoul17, bringing the soul into both poetry and the community, especially the community!
Bless you for your hard work, your emotions and your open love!

Awesome, so glad you decided to join us @emdesan, thank you for your entry.

Thank you for the contest!

Thanks for such an awesome contest. I could barely decide which direction to go with so many amazing prompts and inspirations!

Here is my entry: Feeling Her Pain

Your poem is very emotional and allows the reader to follow the story very well. Thank you for your entry. @byn

Good job with connecting the poem to the theme. That is one of the main things I am looking for. @doxos. Thank you for your entry.

nice contest sir . it really helps the poets a lot . it brings their inner potential out . I hope you conduct more and more contests in near future

Thank you and by the way, I am a beautiful girl/woman @learner365

@rensoul17 sorry beautiful young lady .

The wait was worth it. This is magnificent. What a beautiful vision for a new world. @josediccus.

Haha hats off, milady I'm glad I could impress, 😂😂😂😂😂

Are you on discord? Please?

Yes I am on discord I will send you the link to my server Tribeglobal-love

Nice this post

Great challenge, with fantastic images as inspiration, thank you #rensoul17. Please find my poem here - https://steemit.com/wpchallenge/@tombdbad/where-poets-dream-and-cry-poetry-challenge

Interesting approach to the challenge. Thank you for joining us and thank you for your entry @tombdbad

Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/poetry/@poetrybyjeremy/the-imprisonment-of-dreams-poem-written-for-a-poetry-contest

I love the idea for the contest, and I hope you enjoy my entry :) Also, really interesting choice and variety for the photos! I love choice when it comes to contests.

I love it! Thank you for joining us and thank you for your entry. @poetrybyjeremy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08