Some of my favorite quotes from Hunter S. Thompson A Video Clip & A Documentary.

in #writers5 years ago

I recently turned 50. It's been a pretty wild ride to say the least. I was contemplating my age and thought of this quote that I'd like to share with you....

“Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!”
― Hunter S. Thompson, The Proud Highway: Saga of a Desperate Southern Gentleman, 1955-1967

That has to be one of my favorite quotes ever written. My second favorite quote was:

“There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.”

― Hunter S. Thompson, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

I think Johnny Depp played Hunter rather well in Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas. I always liked the ending of this film. Those words really resonate with me.

I was just planning on posting one quote with some commentary about it. I'm a huge fan of Hunter S. Thompson though, so this post is growing out of control. I'll leave you with the documentary, Buy the ticket Take the ride.

Sort:  

I’m a big fan myself. What an individual he was.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely. One of my favorite modern writers. I was really bummed when he passed.

I occasionally watched the YouTube videos of him. I love watching him drive that piece of junk car through traffic.

He makes me want to live a little harder

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely makes you want to push the edge a little!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67