"Constellations of Loneliness"

ucd9h8icqq.jpg

I keep my bedroom dark, and cool, almost cold.
I have thick velvet curtains on the inside, with
The blinds shuttered closed behind them.

I turn off the light, the room is dark, for the most part.
If I wake up, or open my eyes because I can’t sleep,
My eyes are now accustomed to the dark.
I am surrounded by constellations of lights.

There is the green (but sometimes red) light on the
Smoke detector, the red standby light on my TV,
The green light on the analog signal adaptor.
My alarm clock numbers are red, my clock radio dial is
Amber.

The power light of my air filter is green, the lights
On my sound conditioner, which makes the sounds
Of a thunderstorm to help me not hear the chaos outside
My ‘demesne’, but I can’t keep the chaos out for
Long.

It’s in my head and in my heart; the ‘Constellations’
Reminding me that I am alone in this world.
I have no one to share my bed, nor my life with.

I know, I know I am not really alone; there is life
And there are people all around me.

I don’t really
Miss not having to put up with constant, inane
Chatter, droning on and on about meaningless
Things, or relatively meaningless.
Or worrying about what I said that was so damned
Offensive? How did I hurt your feelings?

Is the emptiness worth this tradeoff?
I have my constellations to keep me company.
And cold comfort they are too. The cool, darkness of
My bedroom surrounds me, and I lay looking up at
The constellations.
   

“Constellations of Loneliness”

by
Jerry E Smith
©8/11/19
sven-scheuermeier
I've had the germ of an idea for this for over a month, every night I look up and think
"Damn! I didn't try to write this down yet", so now I have.
This is a rare, new composition for me, written just now



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


This .gif was created by @elgeko


Sort:  

Hi dearest Friend I completely understand the trade off. You know who’s my company and comforter—my Creator, whom without I’d go crazy and I am happy to be blessed with human friends like you whom complete the puzzle of this trying life. ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am so happy to hear from you Nikki, it has been a long time and I've
Worried and prayed for you. I do SO wish we could keep in touch on
Discord like we used to. I hear from @cecicastor way more often
Than I do you, at least in the past few months.
No recriminations intended, just happy to hear from you.
Please be well and talk to me once in a while.
I love you my friend.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

I love your writing. I also was very touched by the poem you wrote for your niece. Wishing you well.. and also, cake ❤️
Manually curated by @paintingangels.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99