BACKWARD TRAIN

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

It was a cold morning and a happy one too. As I approached the train station feelings of anxiety crawled into my mind. I had always wanted my first experience on a train to be a memorable one. I had always imagined my first train ride to be an unforgettable one. Well, it actually was since I ended up like a zombie after the ride. One would have thought that at my age, I would know the difference between backward and forward. I mean, I am a graduate for crying out loud, and I could have been able to solve the mystery behind the awkward situation.

Oh! The feeling of emptiness in my stomach, the dizziness and the watery salty taste in my mouth still makes me feel uneasy as I write this little experience of mine. As I watched the metro train approach, I hopped in like an excited grasshopper obeying the voice of the metro driver so I would not get crushed by the door; so I thought.

Seated, I felt somewhat uneasy as the houses began to move strangely, everything and everybody seemed to be moving in a backward motion. I closed my eyes to escape from this nightmare, feeling the uneasiness from within me. I looked around me to be sure no one noticed that I was newb to this and I was glad that even my aunt thought that I was a pro to this. I thought within me that since my aunt did not detect my facial expressions and gestures, I was playing the guru well. To cut the long story short, that was how I got off the train with my aunt and with a sigh of relief I asked, " Aunt, na wa o( in Nigerian pidgin showing a sign of amazement) how can a train move in a backward position? I mean what was the inventor trying to prove?" My confused aunt looked at me and shook her head in pity, and amazement "the train did not move backward, rather we sat in an opposite direction and that was why you thought it moved backward" she said laughing this time around. At that point, I bit my lips hard, with a silent hiss shaking my head in self-pity. How sometimes being inexperienced makes you think unintelligibly.

PS: I shared on my first post that I would intimate Steemites of my experience in the United States without my twinnie. Well, there it goes.


Nothing as good as taking countless sips of coffee knowing that Steemit has got your back.

The above images were taken from google pictures.
Follow + Upvote + Comment

Sort:  

Cute story! U are a very good writer, im sure u will do great on steemit. I noticed u commented on a post that was written 3 months ago sayin u didnt understand how to resteem so i thought i would lend a helping hand to a new minnow ;)
You cannot resteem ur own articles so generally u have to hope that someone likes ur article enough to resteem it. However there are services on steemit to help minnows get their posts seen and some of them are free to join. If u want help learning some of these tools just let me know in a reply or comment and follow my page if u dont mind ;)

Thanks for encouraging her mate, bless you!

Absolutely, I know how hard it is at first and I think that discourages a lot of people. So I am on a personal mission to help out any new minnows that want help learning the tools and tricks of steemit.
Thanks for noticing and the support. :)
Take care

Thanks a lot for reading my posts. You have made me feel more encouraged to write. Yes, I am equally interested in those services you mentioned . Thanks once again .

no problem, you are a great writer so I know you will do great on steemit, so dont give up! I will help you :) first thing you need to do is post promotion. There are various different ways to do it, resteem services are an option, but since u are so new we need to make u some money to really use them properly. However there is one for free, its https://steemit.com/free/@rmc/free-re-steem-services.
The other resteem service u should use for now is called @re-steem and to use that service u transfer them 0.001sbd (almost free) and put ur post link in the memo. No service can resteem your post twice so don't waste money on that. Follow @gaman for free random resteems on most of ur articles.
Have u joined any discords yet? If so, which ones?

No , I have not joined any discord.

ok, i am sending you upvotes from minnowsupport which is the P.A.L. Network discord. discord is a chat app when you recieve the message there will be a link for you to join. do that, and then u will be able to send yourself two upvotes a day (worth between 0.2 and 0.4 sbd). one per post ofcourse.

Okay, will do that now. Thanks.

This post received a 7% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @moderndayhippie! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

Congratulations @abimbolakuti! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @abimbolakuti! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by moderndayhippie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.16 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks for the upvote.

this was from me too.. also one from hmed will be coming.. it is an upvote service. you just transfer 0.01sbd to @morwhale and he sends you multiple upvotes from different accounts.
if you look thru some of the comments on my posts u will see multiple services that will upvote every post if you just follow them. one of them is @followforupvotes

I love the sincerity in this. I have to say I have not been in any vehicle for quite some time now. It is rare, so that discombobulated feeling hits me just looking at any form of transportation not of my own legs. Keep going, I love how Steemians appear and encourage and give tips on writing style and look, I am slowly developing as a result.

Thanks a lot. You made my day. God bless. You can also look up my other posts. Thanks again @driftingvoice

Just light it up XD Nice poetry! Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64