IS THIS THE GREATEST WASTE OF HUMAN POTENTIAL?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


source
When we think of Human potential, we automatically think; Technology, Civilization, Colonizing Mars and the dawn of Artificial Intelligence but taking a deep look at the most underrated Human potential, I have realized that Empathy is the Greatest waste of Human potential.
Let's think about it for a moment, Empathy is what makes us human, we are all capable of it, even our basic social interactions depends on it. Then why is it so underused on a large scale.

EMPATHY

Empathy is simply putting yourself in the shoes of others. Empathy is a basic Human trait but when I look back at history, I see so many sufferings that could have been avoided by having Empathy for a fellow Human being. It is even evident in our present time.

I think Humans generally have a highly developed personality, individuality and sense of self. We mostly see the duality of issues which makes it easier to ignore the suffering of others or even inflict suffering.

souce

Every one is born a natural Empath, we just forget or learn otherwise from our environment. I could remember when I was younger, as I took a stroll around the neighborhood, I would silently pray for strangers as I saw their troubling faces. My mum would always ask me "why are you always murmuring to yourself". As time went by, I gradually lost the Interest in this hobby of mine and began to care less for strangers and people outside my social circle.

IS EMPATHY WEAKNESS?

One of the arguments against Empathy is; it's a weak emotion which makes one vulnerable and people can easily take advantage. well, I can understand from that perspective because like most ideologies, Empathy can easily be interpreted through our own personal filters and experiences.

Like most things in life, too much of anything can be deadly. The same thing with Empathy, there has to be a balance. I have heard of Empaths who always feel emotionally drained, putting themselves at risk to help others.

Empathy doesn't mean you must feel sorry for each and every individual you meet, that is sympathy which is more on the surface. Empathy doesn't mean you should lose yourself in the world of another person, we do have to learn the boundaries. You should not lose your personality.

Empathy when practiced right can be a strength. I see Empathy has an emotional IQ; the ability to recognize the emotions, situations, and choices of others. You do not necessarily have to agree or condone it but you understand it. Seeing another person's perspective could take human interaction to the next level, solving conflicts and easing suffering.

Empaths can easily become problem solvers and innovators when they channel their emotions in the right place. An Empath can easily predict someone reaction or behavior. Humans are ruled by emotions, understanding emotions can be the key to understanding the people around you.

APEX OF HUMAN POTENTIAL

Call me a dreamer but I believe that the Greatest frontier of Human evolution is Empathy, the consciousness of oneness. Even though we are individually capable, it can be difficult to achieve as a whole species.
I guess that's why I call Empathy the Greatest waste of Human potential.
I leave you all with this quote.

Empathy is really important. Only when our clever brain and our human heart work together in harmony can we achieve our true potential -Jane Goodall

Thanks for reading. 😊

Sort:  

You should be always a dreamer :)

Thank you for passing by my page @hanen, yea i love to dream 😊

I agree with you without understanding each ather, we can not survive ...

You've got it, Thank you for reading @mariachan

nice work there... please resteem my posts also
i like your post from the fb group thats why resteemed your this post

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by abmakko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need a boost? Click me

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @abmakko to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

The secret is we're all Betazed... Star Trek reference, LOL...

now I have a sudden urge to watch star trek. I never did lol, given that I grew up in a different culture. after some google searches, I think you might be unto something, There is more to the Human that meets the eye.

I wonder if it isn't too much of an oversimplification, to suggest that an empath is a polar opposite to a sociopath? I base my idea more on life experience, than scientific research...

you are correct, not everything is binary we have to learn to manoeuvre the grey areas of life

Thanks for the information passed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62