You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How about unflagging my posts?

in #writing6 years ago

The power of unintended consequences. You were doing well before. You'll do ok, and probably even better from this. I've resteemed this post to 6700 people. I encourage you to continue writing.

I share some of Transisto's opinion that as a platform we really shouldn't be rewarding low view count posts with high amounts of steem. So, I've resteemed your post in hope of getting the view count up higher and also in support of fiction on the blockchain. It has a place. I hope that place is trending.

I do think he's right that we should be working to share our material on other media as well. I'll start working on that some too.

Chin up, hang in there, life will be better after if you stick with it.

Sort:  

I would like to thank you for reviewing this issue.

I share some of Transisto's opinion that as a platform we really shouldn't be rewarding low view count posts with high amounts of steem.

I am one of Michelle's fans. I do not think 123 views, 12 comments and 110 votes is a post that is really skewered weight wise. And this was from one of her flagged post.

I have many times mentioned that views and comments are what make a post valuable, not the number of votes, or the amount of the reward. We know that one person's vote can make a huge reward difference, (@curie comes to mid), but the number of views, I don't think I have noticed a bot capable of increasing view amounts yet.

@aggroed, you are spot-on about sharing our material on other media as well. As a direct result of last night's dialogue with @transisto, we established a presence for the Writers' Block on several other social media platforms as well, with that very purpose in mind. Facebook tends to shadow ban Steemit posts, but with Steemshelves, we have a nifty workaround. There is just no way for us, as writers looking for an audience, to disagree with his rationale about that.

I'm so sorry. I forgot to thank you for the resteem and the kind words.

Thank you!

I've just about decided to stick with it but no more novels, no more stories. I might get researching crypto and start blogging about that... I mean, how hard can a lot of copy/paste and link-condensing be?

Michelle, I love your work, please keep focused on bringing your quality work to Steem. Don't focus on the rewards, they say very little. Let the whales fight out their systemic battle with their game theories and their perspectives on what's 'good' or 'right' for the platform. I fully understand what impact this could have on your motivation and attitude towards this platform, but please:

Try to stay out of this discussion and simply ignore it. Please just keep bringing your writing to Steem.

Yours truly,

A reader.
(yes a real human reader)

Thank you. I'm always pleased when someone posts to say they like my work.

I'm a stubborn person and I gave up bowing to bullies a long time ago - long story.

I enjoy writing here, I think I'll stay 😉

Steemit as a whole provides a very unusual relation between views and rewards, it's earning that are pretty much impossible on any other platform with the same amount of views. So in a way his criticism is fair, but I don't think one can reasonable expect to find all posts that have an unreasonable relation between views and rewards because it's pretty much all of them. Additionally, it seems likely that there is a very strong bias towards this exact type of content heavily influencing his reaction, not just the mathematical relationship between the rewards and the views. But big rewards and low views are surely unsustainable.

Of course it's unsustainable. Maybe something to counter that? Something that prevents an upvote unless you're actually on the blog page itself?

That would also put a stop to bot voting too perhaps.

No, this would not stop bot voting, it wouldn't even make it more difficult and there is no practical way to implement it.

Perhaps taking away the vote button on the list pages would implement it? Then in order to vote, the account would have to visit the post.

This has no bearing on bots. Remember, this is just one interface, not the blockchain. Bots are interacting with the STEEM blockchain, not with the steemit interface.

Fair enough, I was looking at killing two birds with one stone.

I get loads of ideas. Some are really odd and way off into left-field and I make those ideas into stories. The other, more normal ideas sometimes help solve problems. Sometimes not.

That's how ideas work for most of use too :P

Yep and it's good that brains don't all work in the same way - method, outlook... For example, my husband is the Senior Design Engineer for Electronics and Electrics and he works with all kinds of confusing stuff... yet he couldn't write anything fictional because his brain works more logically.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80