You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quitting Life: Finish the Story Competition Entry

in #writing6 years ago

...thin sleep

Gems like that, casually placed, that make a piece worthy for me. Plus, I kept thinking of Chernobyl. It's almost as though you were looking at a snapshot of one of the abandoned villages.

I like the fact that the reader doesn't know what lies ahead. This is not the end of a story, it is a continuation. Opens possibilities, for her and for us.

Of course, the yellow flame, and the bird, do suggest hope and life. Well done!

Sort:  

Sorry about the late reply, been travelling. I was trying for the atmosphere of a deserted industrial landscape. I actually really like looking through photos of the area around Chernobyl, it’s like a snapshot of what the world would be like if humans suddenly disappeared!

I wrote a small book once, for kids, on radioactivity. Included the picture of an abandoned village near Chernobyl. Your scene was exactly like that picture. Haunting...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87