3 Reasons why I joined Steemit

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I finally created my account here at Steemit. After countless nagging by my girlfriend @Ptrz, I gave in and created my account, got approved and finally submitted my first post. But do not get me wrong, my girlfriend is not the sole reason why I joined this community. Here are some reasons why:

1) Incredible Platform for Content Creators

Steemit is possibly one of the best platforms for content creators. It is a central hub for sharing artworks, illustrations, photographs, articles, videos and a lot more. That means anything under the sun can be posted here. As an added bonus, you also get paid for it. No more working with ads and other stuff. Just create your content, post on Steemit and you are good to go.

2) Earn while sharing what you love

As mentioned above, Steemit gives you the opportunity to earn while posting your content. This is what makes Steemit unique in comparison to other social networking sites. It takes a lot of hardwork to reach the point wherein a post may garner hundred of dollars, but earning little is better than nothing at all. Besides, it's just an added bonus. The whole point of Steemit is sharing something you love or interested in while getting to know other people in the community.

3) Facebook is getting toxic

I'm not sure if it happens on other countries, but in the Philippines, Facebook is already toxic, full bots and trolls. Fake news are everywhere with a lot of people sharing it and unfortunately, believing it. With that being said, Steemit became a safe haven with intelligent discussions, meaningful articles and with little to no toxicity. I can express myself without being rebutted with ad hominem. I can also express myself freely without the fear of being judged by another person.

There are a lot more but these are my top three reasons why I joined Steemit. So far everything is great and getting better. There are some cons, but the pros outweigh every thing.

Thank you very much for reading and don't hesitate to share why you joined Steemit. Let me know in the comments below or create your own post stating why.

Disclaimer: Photos used in this article are from Pixabay.com

Sort:  

#life
Marilyn Monroe : Keep smiling, because life is a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about.

Agree! We should not dwell on negativity and instead focus on the beautiful things that are happening around us. We just have to open our eyes and appreciate the good stuff and let the negativity slip past us. Have a great day!

Welcome!!!!

I love good content that is precise and to the point. As such you have my upvote and a new follower!

Thank you very much! I appreciate those kind words. Right now my goal is to create at least one good post a day. It's a good brain exercise and it helps me practice my writing/blogging skills.

Hi, @aimpossible! Ako rin eh, na-astigan sa Steemit eh. I just open my Facebook if there's a pm from my family. Haha! Isa pa, kahit anong content, pwede mong i-share dito. Excited to read more of your write ups! :)

Hello Angelica! I had to check your profile if you're the angelica garcia I know. haha! Followed you. Have a great day :)

Haha! I think I should really go for Aica Garcia like how I use it on my YouTube channel. Or pwede ring diosa nalang. :))

I joined Steemit when it was fairly new in 2016 because I was researching the different cryptocurrencies and what they were about. I started actively using the sight only a few months ago. It is a plus to gain rewards for posting and curating but I also believe it is much more of an open platform than Facebook because our streams are not censored and if it seems like fake news it's probably someones opinion. I have a positive outlook for the future of Steemit as it continues to grow.

The cryptocurrency part never struck me as a motivation for Steemit. I just consider it as an added bonus. Steemit for me is like an outlet wherein I can share or post anything that I want. Unlike Facebook wherein a lot of people will silently judge you, on Steemit, everything is permitted without any worries of people misjudging or whatsoever.

Welcome to Steem

Thank you so much!

Welcome to Steem

Hey there! Just dropping by. ^_^ I hope you are having a great day.

Awesome! I saw your fresh account so I thought I'd send my regards. This post was nice so I upvoted it and I'm waiting for many more posts in the future!
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those big upvotes so you should try out @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up through steemit! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79