A man lying down

in #writing5 years ago

I feel it has been quite some time since I posted a story, so today I bring you a really short one about a man who's really tired and lonesome. Hope you enjoy!

-----------------------------------


Posted by u/campogirl on Reddit

A man is lying down by the cloud flow.

Clouds and clouds pass by, busy with rain, or blizzards, or looking like certain things they see down on earth, shapeshifting to loiter and pass the time.

The man only looks down to the ground, slowly drifting with the lazy clouds. He longs and waits without paying attention to what he sees.

He flies over continents, soars past the lakes and trees and little animals, and nobody looks up to see him. The expression on his face remains unchanged, but occasionally a draft shakes him violently and turns him around, making him face the deep blue of the sky or the black vacuum of space.

Sometimes he watches the moon, sometimes only stars without count.

But sometimes the sun's up there.

Then he makes the only move he seems capable of performing, for it is the only one I've seen him make so far — he turns around to avoid being blinded by the sun. But if he doesn't feel like turning, he just closes his eyes until the sun goes away.

He has never turned the other way around, even when the sea makes a calm mirror for the sun.

He always closes his eyes for the shining sea, even on the nights when there's a full moon.

Once I saw him cry when he opened his eyes and stared at the reflection of the moon and stars on the flat, deep face of the endless blue. I thought it was truly a beautiful sight, and I must confess I cried for a while too.

I cried over the sea and the stars blurred.

I was crying when the man stopped his salty rain, still heavy and swollen with tears, and I was crying when he closed his eyes again.

I cried for another while, watching the man with his eyes closed.

I didn’t know why I was crying at this point. I think it was because somehow I knew that the man was not sleeping. Somehow, I knew he never really slept. Every time he had his eyes closed, I knew he was awake. I thought about my own sleep, inexistent too. That used to make me really sad, and I cried every night.

Now, I rarely cry.

Sometimes when I cry, the man gets sick. I know it's because of my crying, but I can’t do anything to stop it when it starts. It just goes on and on until I run out of tears.

The rest of the time I feel like that man looks.

Calm, yet restless. As if he was in a hurry to get somewhere, but also as if he knew that he was never going to make it on time.

But I really hope gets there...

Sort:  

Good to see you back @amirani, missed you😊 Your story is very emotional and inspiring😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Heyo, George! Never went too far ahaha is just I was posting some other kind of works : ) Posted a couple of collages, if you wanna check them out. They're pretty dated for the site time scales now, but I'd really like for you to take a look at them!

Thanks for the kind comment on the story! : )

Of course i will check them, unfortunaly the way the steemit mainpage is made you can miss a lot of stuff happening. Happy new year:)

Upvot’d and resteem’d. Loved the personification of clouds and using the behaviour of clouds to talk about empathy and struggles.
A56ABC9E-099A-49BF-8C80-02C6F4EA5C4E.gif

You're the first person to recognize that aspect of the story ahaha! At least the first one to state so. I'm so glad : D

<3 ;> UwU c: ;^D

Congratulations @amirani! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @amirani! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73