Origin & Sanctity

in #writing5 years ago

origin & sanctity.png

After we have finished work related stuff, a friend of mine, not a true friend but a friend, and I were heading to a coffee bar for some good, quality coffee. While we were there, we were just chillin’, cracking jokes and keeping it light, but one topic led to another and after awhile we were in very heavy topics, real philosophical stuff.

--“My origin is my anchor, it is my foundation, my compass, my starting point. I think that people who don’t know their origin, they are like dried-up rivers, that is how I see them. And that can also be applied to nations.” – I said

--“It is funny, it really makes me laugh, you know that a great majority of people in this world wouldn’t be having this kind of conversation. Like ever. They wouldn’t think twice about origin and sanctities. They just don’t give a damn about all that stuff! They would be probably laughing at us and they would be probably thinking – why on earth two city boys even speak about this. But I am really glad and happy that I can speak with somebody about this! ” – and he was smiling while he was saying it

--“Yes, you are totally right.” – and we both laughed

“I know that the great majority of people don’t bother themselves with this kind of topics, but for me, personally, my origin and my sanctities are basically me. All of my strength lies in my origin and in my sanctities. And a great majority of my sanctities I, personally, have taken from my origin. Like 80 percent of them.
If I don’t know where my starting point is, how will I know where to go? Where can I go? Yes, I can say that this point where I’m standing right now, that will be my starting point, and I can go from there and try to accomplish something, try to build my castles, but castles cannot be built without the foundations, I mean, I can try, but those castles will be very weak and they will just come crashing down.

--“So, you are basically using your origin as your ground that you are standing on, as something you are leaning on?

--“Yes, basically! ” – I said that with the smile

--“I see it the same way. But that is only about an origin. How do you see sanctities?

--“When I know where my starting point is, where my roots lie, where I am coming from, and when I know that my foundations are strong, only then I can go and try to accomplish something. Before that and without that I would feel like I am in the fog, lost basically, without any sense of direction and without any knowledge where to go to.
And this part, sense of direction and knowledge where to go to, that is where sanctities come into play. Sanctities are some things that I strive to achieve in terms of how I want to mold my inner being, they are my ideals, they are my beliefs, my role-models. My sanctities are the essence of my soul, the core of my being.
Sanctities are everything that I want to become, how I want to behave, everything what I want to represent in the future and everything what I want to stand for in the future. And all of my sanctities, our sanctities, are within me, within us, in our souls. But sanctities can also be some people, and some buildings, and even though they are only material things, what they represent and what they stand for, that is a sanctity.”

--“So, origin is, for you, the knowledge of yourself, where you’re coming from and where your starting point begins. And sanctities are some things that you want to achieve in your inner being, some things that you represent and want to represent in the future. – he was semi-asking me

--“ Yes, that’s right. They are my whole strength. They are my guiding stars through the darkest of nights.”

--“Ok, but what if somebody tries to destroy your sanctities? How would you handle that kind of situation? – he asked

--“I don’t understand! What do you mean? Sanctities are within you, they are deep inside you, in your soul. Only you have the power to destroy your sanctities, or to change them, or to disregard them, or to walk over them, or to discard them completely. Nobody can destroy your sanctities, nobody but you!”

--“Yes, and I agree, but I was thinking about some buildings that are sanctities, and some material things like that. How would you handle a situation if someone is trying to destroy something that is sanctity in your eyes?”

--“Aaa, I understand. Of course that can happen. People can try to destroy your sanctity, they can even destroy it completely. But if I see them trying, I would tell them nicely to let it go, to let it stand, that it has a great value to me, to leave it alone and to just let it be, and I would repair it or rebuild it, and I would classify it in my head like: ”Ok, they didn’t know what it means to me, I have repaired it, everything is all right now, no harm done!” And I would end it like that.
But if they try to destroy my sanctity for the second time, it would be a mistake on their side, mistake in a way that, at that point they are just thinking that they are destroying my sanctity, but instead they are only digging up their graves.”

--“I also agree that when it comes to sanctities, man has to work on them and for them.” – he said

--“I also agree with that.”

--“And they can take a lot of effort, a lot of work and time, and it can be hard.” – he said

The way he said that, I sensed the weakness within him and I wanted to help

--“ Of course it can be hard, no “it can be”, “it is” hard. It is hard, but it was never easy! Do you think that your parents, or my parents, or our ancestors, do you think it was easy for them? It wasn’t! Besides, it is just a question of your mindset. And at the end of the day, it all boils down to how you feel about yourself, how you see yourself, are you ok with yourself when you look in the mirror. That is the only thing that matters.”

--“But if I do how I want to, and handle things the way I want to, some people, even in my closest surrounding, they will judge me, for sure. They will judge me if I don’t live up to their expectations.

--“People will always judge. That’s just what people do! As they have finished all the things in their lives, and they have nothing else to do, nothing else to improve in their lives, and now they have spare time and they will use it to judge.
But whatever you do, people will judge. Don’t worry about that. If you are true to yourself, and you are on your path, how can you be wrong? But in no way you should stop listening to what other people are saying to you, especially the ones that care for you and want only the best for you, you should listen to them, think about what they are saying to you, and then make your own decision. You and only you have to find your own path. Nobody else can do that for you. I already told you that the great majority of my sanctities I took from my origin, form our origin. I took them as my values, as something that I want to represent and how I want to behave, I took them as my own laws that I want to abide. But we are not all the same, everybody is different, everybody has their own way when it comes to finding their own path.”

At that point, a friend of ours interrupted our conversation, she came to say hi and she asked us if we will be going to the party in a few days.

--“So tell me, will you model friends be there? – he asked me with the smile on his face after she went away and now we were back again on keeping it light

--“I am not sure but I do believe so!”

--“Would you introduce me to some of them? I have seen a few of them that look quite nice!”

--“Them is crazy!!! And they are so skinny that, I don’t know, you have to multiply them like 16 times to get a slim and slender build girl. But then again, de gustibus non est disputandum!
But all jokes aside, you will show me the girls you like and I will introduce you to them!”
– at that point I was just joking around and was keeping it light

Sort:  

Congratulations @andreja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95