Angryman's Memoirs...WHY..??

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

One day while siting on the front porch of a new, sort of friend, we found ourselves reminiscing about the old days. We both were about the same age (old) and had been born and raised in New York City. As a matter of fact...we came from the same Borough of Queens, but from different parts and circumstances. 

                              

Heddy was the only child of a Russian/Jewish mother and father, whereas I was somewhere in there between seven kids of Italian/American decent; more accurately, Sicilian. Heddy had lived in a more upper-class type neighborhood (Jamaica Estates) and I came up from the lower, working-class area of mostly Astoria/Long Island City. She went to a Synagogue, and I went to a Church.

At some point in our conversation, Heddy exclaimed that she thought I'd lived a rather "unusual" and "interesting" life...I had never thought about my life in those terms, until she mentioned it. Then she told me that I should "write a book" about my life...Huh? The more I queried her about it, the more I became convinced the lady was right. My life had been kinda weird, strange, "unusual" as she put it...but, a BOOK..? Nawww 

                         

In my mind, I thought that I'd lived a rather average life, but Heddy asked, "how many people dropped out of school at fifteen because they were bored, had five or six jobs before entering the Army at seventeen, made it to Sergeant, had a Top Secret Clearance, was nominated for West Point, got out as a Private, drove a taxi in crazy Manhattan, worked as a Private Investigator, Law Enforcement with the government, opened and closed four businesses, had mobster friends/associates, paints pictures, writes, fixes houses, worked as a bodyguard, had other Government jobs, witnessed about ten shootings, including being shot at, skied down a road in the Alps not knowing how to ski, and almost went over a cliff...??? How Many?"

I couldn't give her an exact count, but my guess was "none"... and, I had a lot more I never told her about. I can say 'crazy' phrases in about seven languages, including "You have a face like that of a monkey" in Urdu...

To be honest, I actually did write a lot throughout my life; mostly stuff that was never published, and never intended to be. It's been like a hobby, that I sometimes took to another level and made a few bucks with. There are about three books I began writing, tucked away somewhere within the bowels of my messy accumulations; but not about my life.

Steemit is the first platform where I began to unveil aspects of my past. It just happened...with no particular intent in mind. It's been said that "if you want to be a successful writer; write about what you know" I know myself pretty well...at least I think I do...I've known 'me' since I was a kid.

                              

So, my friend Heddy might be somewhat responsible for me opening up here. I've had her words come back to me in quiet times; her promptings have become an echo...She's gone now, but her voice of encouragement remains. I"m not writing a book, but perhaps enough to compile into one someday. 

Why am I doing it? I don't know...It's just something to do.

I'm outta here friends...see ya next time.

Ciao

Another Dastardly, Demented Determination by AngryMan on Steemit May 14, 2018

Images by Pexels.com


Sort:  

I have to admit @angryman , i got inspired by your work , gave it a try ,

https://steemit.com/writing/@small1axe/misty-monday-morning

I had fun writing it , sadly it got buried fast .

I will visit and read what you wrote @small1axe ... Yes, our stuff can get buried fast here unfortunately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05