A small rant.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I think things in the world would be so much better if people in general cared even just a little bit more about each other..

Including the animals, for they are "others" as well. And technically we are animals also in a scientific sense and based on the etymological definition of the word.

The absolute lack of compassion I see on a regular basis is just.. Heart breaking.

So many people seem to just wanna fuck and kill and take advantage of each other.. Yet.. What about love?

Seems like so many just pay lip service to that concept. They use the word a lot and throw it around flippantly and they seem to want love, but.. How much do they show it to those outside of their own selves and their closest circle of family and friends?

How many care about the bombs being dropped on little kids around the planet? Or the countless people starving all over the world? The government torture programs? Secret prisons? Assassinations?

Yeah.. I'll believe people care more when I see it.
So far in my 35 years.. I've seen a whole lot of "selective compassion", narcissism, sociopathy, hedonism and selfishness.. But.. Very little "true love".

Prove me wrong world! I would love it if you did. -.-

Sort:  

Thanks.. And that's an interesting way to word it that true love is very expensive, however on another hand I think true love doesn't cost anything.. I guess it just depends on how you look at it!

If one wants to uncover what is ‘true’.....one must uncover what lies buried......dig my friends until you find this........

Thank You Kindly

I think that a lot of this can be put down to government. Given a title/authority/uniform with the weight of the state behind them, many people will behave in a way they never would as individuals as if leaving their moral compass at home when they go to work.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and while I agree that a lot can be attributed to government especially in regards to the actual aggression being forced upon others, however it's the masses that are generally apathetic and they way outnumber those who are in government.

I believe that without governments persuading us that life is about competition for scarce resources, we wouldn't all be so suspicious of each other, we wouldn't be so inclined to shaft others for our own good and we might start cooperating instead of competing.
But maybe I'm just naive!

One will only understand the nature of animals when one does not eat meat that’s the inception point of love for self as well as LoVe for others in turn love for animals.

Thank You Kindly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87