First Alex Jones banned from numerous social media, now Ron Paul and others suspended from Twitter..?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I posted about Alex Jones being banned from Facebook, YouTube and Apple.
Today my friend shared a link showing Ron Paul and others have been suspended as well..

38801309_10210251592720868_105726126139113472_n.jpg

Hmmm... Maybe AJ was the start, maybe this is going to ripple out more and more.
By the way don't get me wrong, this has been going on for a while, Alex Jones isn't necessarily the "start", but.. What I should have said was.. Maybe he is a significant catalyst to get a bigger purge going in effect.

In one of the screenshots in the link I read there's a comment from Tom Woods who says something to the effect of..
"Maybe someday there could be a major platform that just lets people talk, and doesn't try to be your mother?"
And I'm thinking like.. Hello...? Steemit? It already exists. Come on over! We're waiting for you. :)

Part of me is concerned about this.. And part of me is excited about this.
This almost certainly is only going to bring more people over to steemit, and other less censored social media.
I think that's awesome news!! These big companies appear to be killing themselves, and I have to wonder.. Do they even realize it...?

Also.. I have to wonder.. I wonder how safe my Facebook/Youtube accounts are?
I'm not big and well known like Alex Jones or Ron Paul, but I have to imagine they are either banning a bunch of smaller accounts as well, or possibly they have plans to.
If so.. Was nice knowing you all on Facebook/YouTube! I'll be over on steemit and eventually Dtube. :D

I think the future is going to be more and more decentralized, these dinosaur corporations like Facebook/YouTube.. Are probably going their natural course, however they will probably thrash around a bit trying to control things before that happens.

And heck.. I've made thousands of dollars posting over on steemit where it's much less censored, why should I cling to a platform that pays me nothing and censors me?
If I disappear, it won't effect/affect me much. I'm happy and having a blast over on steemit, doing things that were never really quite possible until now.

imagghfgfes.jpg

Will include the link to the article I read below and also the one I wrote yesterday about Alex Jones being banned. Peace!

https://www.rt.com/usa/435293-twitter-suspends-libertarean-figures/

https://steemit.com/writing/@apolymask/alex-jones-and-his-programs-apparently-banned-from-facebook-youtube-and-apple-hmmm

Sort:  

Wow, it's getting bad. I went down the rabbit hole of those links for a while... Then I remembered that I always hated twitter, and still do.

Yeah, I think it will increase until there is more backlash. I was going to make a post on it for tonight, but went with FB and banking deal attempt instead ;)

The Facebook ban seems to be a joint publicity stunt to me. But then again I am a rather cynical person on some subjects. Facebook is losing relevance, Alex Jones is losing relevance. People have been moving away from them, I can easily see this as Facebook coming out in a couple of days, "oh, we so sorry, we make boo-boo, we will fix it." Alex Jones - -"we so sorry we did not mean to be mean, we won't be again." this sounds so much like a joint lets get people focused on us again thing. Ron Paul, pretty much the same thing. Looking for relevancy in a world he no longer fits in.

Two days, at most, and the spin doctors will fix it all up, and everyone will be happy, Facebook can go on banning the little guys, and no one will be the wiser, because then they can point to the restoration of Alex Jones. Meanwhile Bob's Private Bistro Talk is shut down without cause. (No I have no Idea if Bob's Private Bistro Talk is real).

And then, there are people cry censorship on this platform as well.

Hello @apolymask, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95