Some philosophical thoughts.

in #writing6 years ago

Sometimes it seems as if many people are basically taught and conditioned to not feel pain or to feel others pain. Especially men. But often women too.
I grew up being the "good" kind of warrior, but even at that.. I would block pain out.. Like physical pain especially. That's probably not good cause it's telling you something. It's saying something is wrong. If you ignore that, it's likely to get worse and you're more likely to ignore it when others are in pain as well.

Sometimes it can be good to learn how to ignore the pain, like.. If you're in a life or death situation or something serious.. You can't be distracted, you have to focus.
That's one reason I never felt wrong in ignoring those signals before, I knew I needed to be ready if something bad happened and not panic or freeze up and I was training for that possibility.
But.. I do think ignoring pain in general is not necessarily a good thing and could be very bad especially when you have a whole culture doing it, or a whole world.

So many people wanna be so strong and warriors and all that, but.. What good is strength without morality and honor?
Without morality and honor I think it's weakness.. So it's not something I want to attain to, to be a unfeeling machine.. No thanks. Those of you who prefer that can keep it.

Sort:  

Well said @apolymask.

What good is strength without morality and honor? Without morality and honor I think it's weakness.

And so I would agree wholeheartedly. Strength would be best built on morality and honor, not as an exception to them. Sweet post to the point!

Thanks everlove! Glad to hear the post resonated with you. :) It's always nice to hear from those who value honor and morality and ethics and empathy! :)

Thanks for giving me something to appreciate @apolymask.

It seems as though pain is there to show us what we don't want.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95