(Don't) follow your heart

in #writing6 years ago

People have an extremely strong trust in intuition.

"Trust your heart" they say.
According to World Health Organization almost 10 million people died to ischaemic heart disease only! Trusting your heart is an extremely dangerous thing to do, especially as we can see how heart is the main organ betraying you and your trust. Source

heartache-1846050_1920.jpg

But otherwise, people seem to have a tendency of following their heart. Well I personally believe we have our emotions and instincts mostly in the brain instead of the heart, as the main task of the heart is to pump blood.

There actually is people who thing emotions are in the heart.

Quite many decisions are made based on what we want and feel instead of what we actually think is the best for us. I've read a claim that we mostly make our decisions based on our feelings and then afterwards come up with logical reasons why it's a good decision. This way we can convince ourselves we are making a logical decision - not an emotional one.

Then it feels like a better idea.

"I want this BMW because... the brand is known for it's high quality products with very few faults and issues"

thought-2123970_1920.jpg

This also explains why afterwards so many of our "logical decisions" turn out to be terrible. You'll notice yourself that there were plenty of better things to do but you chose to do this one thing only because you wanted to do it. Even though you had lied to yourself that it's a logical decision.

The best one.

I've made a lot of decisions based on my feelings and I know it. Quite many of them have been bad, really terrible decisions and I'm suffering from them even this day. However some have been really good decisions.

Even if the feeling has been "Haha this will be hilarious".
This has lead into extremely good and extremely bad results.

Like I got my first girlfriend from a really bad joke. "It will funny" I thought.
It's up to you to guess if it was a good or a bad thing though.

roses-821705_1920.jpg

The bad thing though is that even if we're making logical decisions, we can't know if we'll do the right ones. We have a limited amount of information, how can we know what is actually for the best? Luckily we do know most of the time, but that's something we take for granted. I have no reason to get a special praise for knowing it's not the best idea to walk through the windows. Even if I felt like doing it.

As I mentioned my poor decisions earlier, I've made very poor logical decisions in the past too. Some of them even were a combination of following my heart and following my brain.

Like choosing the job I'm currently working on. It seemed somewhat perfect.

  1. Stable business.
  2. Position in service team and service is one thing which never ends.
  3. Reputation of constant need of skilled professionals

However after one month after joining we heard the news. One of the main reasons the contract is temporary is because the entire team is ending and another team will take over the tasks we're doing now.

work-2005640_1920.jpg

In the previous position I worked on and I could have continued on, someone left the team and there was a permanent position open. They hired someone else, as I was stuck in the new team which was going to end.

I did follow all the good things given to me, but I just had no way to know. However the good thing is, even if I would have chosen differently I might have felt bad for staying in the previous position and not trying anything else.

It all ended well though, as I've now found a (permanent?) position in another team and it seems like the most awesome thing I've ever done. This was achieved by not following my heart, as my heart and brain told me "Don't even try it, let's see how it goes in the services team".

Fuck you heart. Fuck you brain.

Way to go whatever is pushing me forwards except those two. All hail the alien overlords!

dice-2351448_1920.jpg

My current theory is that all decisions should be based on dice rolls. All of us should carry a bunch of dice in our pockets, so we can make up decisions using the dice.

I'm assuming D&D geeks are doing only the best decisions as they are used in throwing dice.

If anyone steals my idea I'll sue them!

Sort:  

10 Million died of heart diseases so we can't trust it? Half of the world is somewhat partially mad so should we trust brain? xD

To a single heart disease, if it would be all of them the amount would be vastly greater!

Partial madness is not always as dangerous as cardiovascular diseases are, so I'll trust my brain more :)

Good one :)

Roll of Dice to decide things. 😂😂😂

I rolled a 3, so I'm replying a comment but no upvote.

This seems to be working really well!

The wheat ninja :D

Wheat did you just say about me?

This User is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

• Spam
• Plagiarism
• Scam or Fraud


35474576.jpg
Please show support show your support for @spam-detector by following and upvoting this post.
Thank you for your support.

Hi Apsu. You followed your heart but ended up finding another job with another team. A bit of luck and good timing. You obviously deserve it and very happy it ended up all ok. You took a chance by leaving your old job and sometimes that is all it takes. Keep rolling the dice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10