Emojis and the art of “subtle ignorance”

in #writing5 years ago

The times have passed where the words meant something. I wonder why they veen exist. All my reactions are recorded in emoji-es, emoticons, stickers and gifs. I even have conversations just using memes. There is a way to deliver the message using all these rather new trend, new compared to my age, and it is interesting how well they are delivered.

Ingredients you need for this are: a person who understands the meaning of the memes you sent, the hidden meanings of the emojis and someone who is actually crazy enough to talk with you.

But, when I started my conversations it was exciting at first. It was all laughter and sadness sent in these tiny yellow buttons. But, as time went by, I started using them to end a conversation. It was easy to give a lot of ❤s and mean it at first. Then even the ❤️s started to flood in and they came from every corner of my friend circle. Heck, last week, the one who never talked to me in uni sent me this Bye❤️. It was meant for saying “Bye, I don’t have to listen to you anymore!”.

I must admit, these little buttons and emojis have made my life better too. There are times when I just have to send this or this just to give away those hard spoken words of “What did you just say???”!

If I have to say about these trends, they are like fireflies. They light up the room and just die off. Then the next one comes, like the stickers that came after the emoticons. Stay for a while, everyone sends you stickers and then someone makes a meme about those stickers and everyone just jumps on to it.

Do you know how difficult it is to adapt to these changes?! Especially, when your friends still live in the stone ages of technology?! Yeah, well, that is for another day. This is about the subtle art of ignorance using the emojis and a new trend here.

You see, before, in the good old days where we called someone and talked, we ended the conversation with “Bye” and a few good wishes. Once it got to text, it continued till a time. At least a Bye, catch you later, didn’t take up much time. But, today, it’s done with a 👋. If you are lucky, then, maybe this: https://gph.is/2AB0jLh

But, the problem is I have developed the habit of ignoring the conversations with these simple emojis and the likes. I mean, how does a simple like button decide my reaction, I neer know, but somehow it does!

Well, I think there is going to be an even better way to deliver my messages. Maybe, a mesh that forms into my face and smiles, to my favorite kids. You know, the ones we seen in the scifi movies. Or, or, maybe something that just comes out of the phone and punches in the face of the reader when I sent the 👊. Or,the… well you get it right…

Today, I’m a little 😔 about this and I’m sure a good meme can life up the mood. Maybe someone will do that for you too. Who knows, the world is full of Good people :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @ashlinpv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @ashlinpv! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75