Our Own Worst Critic

in #writing7 years ago


I have become a fan of the show Z: The Beginning of Everything, a biography based series about the life of Zelda Fitzgerald. (Season 1 is available on Amazon) Recently I watched an episode where after receiving a negative review, F. Scott Fitzgerald is told by the critic, “Don’t take it so personal, I was reviewing your book, not you.” As a writer, I felt stabbed in the heart when I heard those words, only thinking to myself how impossible it was to not take a review personal. How ignorant the critic was to not know that most writers, most artists, pour themselves heart and soul into their work. It is often difficult to separate one from the other. On my Author Facebook page I even write that “I strongly believe that when you know an author, that you have a deeper understanding of their words and the meaning behind them.” This is because somewhere even if it is in the depths of the unsaid, there is a part of the author within the words.

I felt plagued by this scene for a few days, but I know that I tend to be overly sensitive so I did my best to let it go. Until I felt the same stab to the heart in a scene of, my now favorite show on TV, This is Us. (Seriously, if you haven’t seen this show, please do. The extraordinary writing is only made greater by the amazing chemistry between the cast members. I can’t get enough of it, honestly considered writing a blog just to sing their praises!)

But, back to the point of today’s actual blog….. There was a scene where the acting brother seeks a top critic to review a play that he is starring in and producing, only to be told that the critic considered showing up to witness the disaster of a sitcom TV actor trying to cross over into the drama of play acting. The statement was so callous and mean, and most of all unnecessary. There was another scene in this same show, this past week, where the mother is trying to break into becoming a professional singer. Her friends are supportive of her “Singing Thing,” but think it would be wise that she keep her options open since the percentage of “Making It Big” are so slim and not everyone can live by pursuing their dream.

Yes, I know that her friends were just being realistic and Yes, I know that it is the job of a Critic to be critical. It is a harsh business and why it is said that the most important thing is to develop a tough skin or you will never make it. I guess, I just want to say that although some reviews are negative, they are helpful when given as constructive criticism. And to the friends that are really only trying to be helpful with their sage advice, remember that there is a reason most artists choose to suffer or go without when pursuing their dream….. they can’t not at least TRY! Knowing that if you fail, you did so having given your best shot and hopefully having fun along the way.

So, the next time that you are judging the work of a creative just try to remember that an Artist is usually their own worst critic, so Be Kind. It is not only a writing, or picture, or performance but it is most likely a piece of their Heart!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61