I saw him die [suspense short story]

in #writing6 years ago

I saw him die. I was going to work. The sun was just rising. That day I had forgotten to wear a tie, but I decided to skip it for just being friday. Everything calm. One or two going through the street, either arriving or leaving your house. Lights turning off, young people throwing newspapers, hurrying vehicles and so on. All very routine.

Before arriving at my office there is a high building under construction, which grews every day I pass next to it. I always liked to stop and see the top of the building to see how much it had grown. And in fact, it was always higher than the last days, so much so that the sun no longer let me see its peak. Maybe that's why I did not see it when he jumped. Like a winged being without dexterity, a man descended by force of gravity towards the solid and imminent asphalt. His body grew before my eyes and I panicked. I wanted to be able to take it and save it, but I was in shock. It fell right in front of my feet. He saw me and then he looked at the sky as if knowing that he had fallen, in order to somehow rise again. And there he was.

Today, after several weeks, I would like to have worn a tie that day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56