You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learn From Everyone, But Be Your Own Teacher

in #writing6 years ago

I often tell my children what my dad used to tell me "He who educates you controls you. Who do you want in control of your life? Then self-educate!" Anything that I say that is half worth hearing didn't originate from my head. I, most likely, heard it from a much wiser man than I. I don't even trust myself. I check myself out & I have had to change my thinking on most everything I thought I knew. If you can't unlearn, you can't learn.

Sort:  

I agree that if you can't unlearn then you can't learn. even things we knew that where correct at the moment can change and require adaptation. and the easiest transition to change is unlearning.(however there is a balance with unlearning and not forgetting the lessons of the past)

One wouldn't drive down the highway of life staring in the rearview morrow. It's extremely valuable to glance into it on a regular bases. Remembering the lessons of the past is number 1 because it is a direct experience. You can't place a price on that.

That was well put! Can I copy that and quote it with credit to ya?

Thanks. I will still give you credit 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69590.59
ETH 3887.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73